Concho Valley Bird Banding Update


Since this blog was originally meant to be primarily about birds, bird photography, and birding I thought I would pass on to you any information on these subjects that come my way.

Charles Floyd of the Concho Valley Bird Banders, dropped me a note to tell me that the fall migration banding at the Hummer House, in Christoval, Texas, has been pretty much completed.  They will soon concentrate on winter sparrows, once they start to arrive in bigger numbers.

These are the highlights of what they banded at their last session:

I can see now that I need to get out more.  Most of those would have been lifers for me.

For more about their organization, click on the highlighted link above, or on my “Favorite Websites”  on the right side of this page.  Charles also mentioned that he would keep me posted on any upcoming changes.

Here is a shot that I took at one of their sessions that I attended.

Carolina Chickadee

Since Ann wasn’t feeling herself when she and I made our trip to Big Bend NP a couple of weeks ago, we missed some of the birding opportunities.  So we are going to make a return trip the week after next.  Maybe I can come up with some new bird photos from that area.

I have been negligent in giving credit to my dear friend Deb Tappan, of Knoxville, Tennessee.  She is an outstanding wildlife photographer.  Her collection of bird photographs is awesome, as is all of her photography from the United States and Canada.  This blog of mine is a result of her instigation, by the way.

10 thoughts on “Concho Valley Bird Banding Update

  1. Our Chickadees (Black-cap ) are starting to come around the feeders this past week..together with the Nuthatches. To Katie..3 winters ago when we had 5 foot of snow on the ground, we had 3 pairs of Western Tanagers that wintered with us at the bird feeders plus a cottontail bunny. They are spectacular birds for color..Bob your photos are always so inspiring. I paint a lot of Chickadees and the galleries sell a lot them for. Everyone loves these little round fluffy birds that are so polite at the feeders..usually one seed at a time. Have a great evening..God Bless

  2. Ah, as someone from back East, I love seeing a Chickadee! Just brings a smile to my face. And just thinking that you may see a Western Tanager. Ooh, I am so jealous. 🙂 And Baltimore Orioles. Now that’s going right back to my neck of the woods. 🙂 I hope you and Ann have a great trip back to Big Bend and see lots of different birds. And thanks to Deb Tappan for urging you to do this blog! Have a great weekend, Bob!

    • Ah, thank you, Katie. I am also thankful to Deb for talking me into doing this blog. But it is readers like you and the other bloggers that comment, that keeps me wanting to write more. Because I know that there are people out there listening 🙂

  3. The banding of birds sounds interesting! I bet it requires a lot of physical work and savvy to handle such delicate creatures. Thanks for the info Bob.

Leave a Reply

