Images from Middle Concho Park


Ann and I took a brief visit to Middle Concho Park a couple of days ago.  Birds from the migration are starting to return.  Eastern Bluebirds, American Coots, grebes, etc.  Also I got this image of a Red-shafted Northern Flicker (Colapts auratus).  It was the first flicker that I had seen this season.

Northern Flicker - Red-shafted sub-species

Further along we spotted this female Golden-fronted Woodpecker looking for bugs on a tree branch.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker - female

Photo EXIF data:

Flicker:  Canon EOS 7D with Canon 100-400mm lens, 1/640 sec. @ f8 , ISO 125 minus 1/3 EV.  Spot metering with aperture priority.

Woodpecker:  Canon EOS 7d with Canon 500mm f4 IS lens and 1.4 tele-converter.  1/1600 sec @ f9, ISO 400.  Partial metering with aperture priority.

Click on either image to see an enlargement.

12 thoughts on “Images from Middle Concho Park

  1. Great photos, Bob! And finally a bird I see in Santa Fe, the Northern Flicker! I really like those birds, as they are larger and just more cool than the normal ones that i see at my feeder. Great photos! 🙂

  2. Stunning as usual…flickers are really interesting birds and such unusual color patterns..We have been blessed at our feeder all week with the appearance of our Mr. Lewis Woodpecker…Earlier this summer we had what I believe was a Northern Flicker in our driveway feeding on the dropped seed.Take care and your bird photos are some the best I have ever seen…

  3. Mr. Z. You are undoubtly the best bird photographer I have ever come into contact with. Keep up your work and keep sending these delightful images. I enjoy every one of them. I have been sending you from time to time images that I thought you would like to see. Photogs, like writers,like to see the work of others. My best, your amigo ross.

    • Ross, that is undoubtably the best compliment I have had in a long time. I do appreciate the images that you send me, too. I do love to see the work of others. But at times, when I see the others, I wonder if I am worthy of your statement about mine. I guess I am my worst critic. Thanks, again,

      Bob

  4. The first time I saw the Northern Flicker I was very intrigued because you hardly see it fly but can walk very fast. I didn’t think it was a flying bird. Of course it flies! You got nice photos my friend!

Leave a Reply

