The Great Blue Heron Comes Courtin’


Yesterday, Ann and I decided to take another, yes, still another run down to the water treatment ponds at Eldorado, Texas.  I had mentioned in previous posts, how this place was one of our favorite places to bird.  It is one place where you absolutely never know what you might see.  This time we were rewarded again.

When we drove in, the temperature was mild, no wind, and the waters were quite calm.  We drove around and saw many of the usual species and I got several new photographs.  But one of the highlights of the morning was seeing this Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias)as he was doing a mating dance for a nearby female.

Great Blue Heron - Mating Dance

Great Blue Heron - Mating Dance

I was so happy to get the opportunity to see and photography this ceremony.  One doesn’t often get the chance to see such happenings in the wild.

I hope you enjoyed the photographs.  Photographic information is as follows:  Canon EOS 7D.  Canon 500mm f4 lens with a 2X tele-converter, focal length 1000mm.  1/800 sec. @ f8, ISO 400.  Shooting distance was approximately 250 yards.  Hand-held, camera resting on window sill of my Ford Edge using my Puffin’ Pad as a cushion.  As usual click on either one for an enlargement.

39 thoughts on “The Great Blue Heron Comes Courtin’

  1. Wow! These are fantastic, Bob! I once had a Blue Heron stop in my back yard and hang out by my pool for several hours here in suburban, NY. It was quite the treat and I regret not having any pictures! Thanks for sharing.

  2. How nice that you were in just the right place at the right time to witness that ritual AND that you took such good photographs to share the experience 🙂

  3. You’re right about that – people DON’T get to see something like this every day!! WOW! As soon as I saw the photo – before I saw the description – I told my husband that the bird was doing a dance, and it turns out I was right! 🙂 Fantastic capture!!

  4. Hi Bob – He’s really strutting his stuff, isn’t he? ‘Hey, hey, hey! Look at me!!’ Any Herons I have seen close up have been standing stock still! So this is great to see! Magic photographs as usual! I have just added a Blogroll and you are on it!

    Cheers

    John

    • If I had been closer, he probably wouldn’t have moved. But he was about 250 yards away and probably didn’t see me. Thanks to my long lens, I was able to get this close-up. Original image slightly cropped. Thanks for your kind words, John. I always appreciate your comments.

      Also, thanks for adding me to your blogroll. I will reciprocate. 🙂

  5. Nice work Bob, I’ve been lucky to have documented that mating ritual of Great Blue Herons in Georgia. It’s an captivating moment! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

