Uncommon Brown Thrashers


The Brown Thrasher, (Toxostoma rufum), is listed in my area as uncommon, or that means usually present, but hard to find.  These photographs were taken back in January of 2010, nearly two years ago, at San Angelo State Park.  I haven’t seen any of them since, but as the man said, they are hard to find.

Brown Thrasher

Brown Thrasher

Pertinent photo data is as follows:  Canon EOS 7D, 500mm f4 lens with 1.4 tele-converter, 1/1000 sec. @ f8, -0.3 EV, ISO 640, aperture priority, tripod mounted.

Click on either image to see an enlargement.

33 thoughts on “Uncommon Brown Thrashers

  1. If they are who I think they are, we get them here from time to time. The way they act always reminds me of a mocking bird. Are they related? I know they aren’t fanciful, but I find them beautiful none-the-less. Loving how you caught their expressive looks too. ~ Lynda

  2. Bob,

    I appreciate that you provide the camera setting details. It gives me a better understanding of how to use my camera. I’m going to take a short course in the new year that will help me to understand camera useage better.

  3. You are so blessed..we don’t have these interesting birds in Colorado. The patterns of their feathers are awesome..your photos are so clear and full of detail…

  4. I get to see a lot of these in the spring when they come to feast on my yard full of ants. I have yet to get a close photo though. They take off right when I come out of the house. These are beautiful photos Bob. I love their spotted chest!

    • Melissa, I can see right now that I am going to have to buy you a longer lens. Kidding! But maybe you can talk Santa into getting you one.

      But thank you for your nice words. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Also, you get to see this thrashers all summer. Down here they just migrate through here and maybe we can see some during the winter.

  5. Beautiful image as always, Bob. Love the detail in the tongue on the 2nd shot. In going back through my library I have a 2008 and 2007 sighting of the species in the SASP Blind, though at the time I didn’t know what it was… Hopefully with some TLC returning to that blind that it will be encouraged to return.

    • These photos were made in that very same blind, Jim. I received info from Kurt Kemp, and he said that they were going to get new windows in it, and hopefully more dependable volunteers to take care of it.

      • Fingers crossed that they do it soon and that they get it right (like not sealing any of the windows…). That is an incredible resource when it is kept up properly. You & Ann did a great job when you were minding the watch, as did Gary before you.

    • I was about 25 feet away. These are JPEG images almost exactly how they came out of the camera. One of those lucky times when the exposure was spot on, with also the help of my tack-sharp Canon lenses. I just tweaked the unsharp mask a bit. The second image is, of course, a cropped version of an other exposure. Thank you very much, David, for your great comment.

  6. Wow! Great shots! They are somewhat common here in Michigan. One of the reasons I live the Pigeon River Country is that the woods there are alive with both thrashers and thrushes in the spring. You can hear them singing where ever there are stands of hardwoods.

Leave a Reply

