Weathered In, Waiting for change…..


We’re still a little weathered in, drizzly, wet cold.  I don’t mind the cold, but for photography, moisture and cameras are not good bedfellows.  But we got out Friday when the sun broke through for an hour or so and I got these pictures to share.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker - female

Golden-fronted Woodpecker photographed from distance of about 40 feet.  Canon 7D, 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter.  1/1250 sec. @ f8, ISO 400.  Hand-held.

Western Meadowlark

Western Meadowlark, was about 65 feet away.  Almost hidden in the brown grass.  Canon 7D, 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter.  1/1600 sec. @ f8, ISO 400.  Hand-held.

Neither photo is gallery quality, but at least, I was able to get outside for awhile and enjoy the nature, albeit from my car.

17 thoughts on “Weathered In, Waiting for change…..

  1. Checking in and catching up today. You’ve got me wondering with this post: What temperature does a Texan consider cold? I imagine it is a temp that a New Englander would consider “light jacket weather” 😉

  2. Bad weather can be a “downer”. But it will change and you will be out there soon enjoying your beautiful state and location. Always good to read about your adventures. I like the Western Meadowlark pic. Natural pose.

  3. I am hunkered down by the wood stove as snow is falling here in Pagosa Country., I did have a great visitor to the window mount bird feeder this morning..It as our resident Lewis Woodpecker who normally feeds at a different feeder. He selected the window mount which was great as we have a two way mirror and we could get up real close for a special look. He is just a special bird and so colorful. Love the Meadowlark as we have them here and they sing in the spring and on through the fall. Stay warm and dry…back to the studio…

  4. Hate to rub it in, but it has been absolutely beautiful here the last two days, lots of sunshine and temperatures above normal for mid-December. Been cold at night though, but I haven’t taken to night hiking in the winter yet. I cam close last evening though, it was almost dark when I got back to my vehicle. Not many photos, but a great day!

    • Yes, I am jealous. Actually, this weather is very unusual for us. Our wet weather comes in form of quick, violent storms, then they are gone. We don’t usually get this stuff that hangs around for days. That’s why I left Michigan. 🙂

  5. It’s important to enjoy too. I think that’s what matters more. 🙂

    Love these birds. Woodpecker is amazing and so fascinating. And thank you for visiting my blog, it was really good to see you there.

Leave a Reply

