Wilson’s Warblers at Eldorado


In my endeavors to keep bringing you new and exciting images, I dug back through my files and came upon these photos a a Wilson’s Warbler (Wilsonia pusilla) that were captured near the water treatment ponds at Eldorado, Texas, several weeks ago.  One major difference between the Wilson’s Warbler and the Yellow Warbler in my post yesterday is that the Wilson’s has a dark patch atop it’s head.  The bottom photo is a juvenile, so the patch isn’t as dark yet.

Wilson's Warbler

Wison's Warbler

Wilson's Warbler

All photos were taken with my Canon EOS 7D with 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter attached.  Hand-held at 1/640 sec, shutter priority, hand-held.

24 thoughts on “Wilson’s Warblers at Eldorado

  1. You are right about hard to see. Blink your eyes and they are gone..love the second photo..like he is saying “catch me if you can”…great shots…We have about a foot of new snow, so feeders are busy with Juncos, Titmice, Chickadees and a couple of Nuthatches. Take care..I am staying in and keeping the fire going..

  2. I love these pretty Wilson’s Warblers, and your photos are excellent. We get them in the Bosque up and down the Rio Grande during migration. It’s always delightful to see them!

  3. These are beautiful. The first one shows so much detail in his plumage (and that three-D effect David mentioned above), but the second one shows us his personality! Lovely, Bob! ~ Lynda

  4. So beautiful Bob. Every once in a while I’ll get to see a warbler of some sorts up close, but like the flickers they are pretty shy and flighty when I come around with my camera…a bigger lens is in order I guess! (:

    • Thank you, Melissa. Warblers are very difficult to photograph. They’re quick to move, and sometimes hard to see. I just get lucky. A bigger lens definitely helps. What type of camera do you have?

      Happy Wednesday. 🙂

      • I have a canon eos rebel xs and my biggest lens is the cheapy 75-300mm. What’s next? Bob it is RAINY and 40 today and tomorrow we have a low temp of 45!! Wild (:

        • Next would be probably be the one I use, the Canon 100-400mm. Pricey but well worth it. 1439.00 at B&H Photo.

          Still overcast here, but warmer 70 today. Getting colder over the weekend again. Yes, it’s wild. 🙂

Leave a Reply

