Two more from Middle Concho Park


Friday opened cool and cloudy, but by 11:00AM it was bright and sunny.  We decided to return to Middle Concho Park where we had seen so many species the day before.  Again there were an abundance of birds.  We birded there for an hour or so, then we drove over to the adjacent Spring Creek Park.  Here are two photographs that I captured there.  A Blue Jay (Cyanocitta stelleri), and an American Robin (Turdus migratorius).

Blue Jay

American Robin

As I said the good news was that it was bright and sunny.  On the downside I didn’t have the best light that I would have had if it had remained cloudy.  Boy, I sure am hard to please, aren’t I??  But it did make it difficult to expose properly for the Blue Jay.  As you can see, it worked out okay, though.  The American Robin was in open shade where the light was more even, so the job was easier.

During our birding, we saw a couple of hawks, several herons and egrets and others.  In all, we saw 21 species, as I have listed below.

I hope you enjoyed the photos and narrative about our birding exploits.  Have a great weekend.

25 thoughts on “Two more from Middle Concho Park

  1. I find all the comments so worth reading..I love the Bluejay with the lighting..excellent job..great photos as usual..being a painter, I have the artist privilege of changing the lighting to suit the subject..with a camera, you all must face real challenges..Have a great weekend..we have lots of sun, but cold temps..0 again..this morning..up to 34..that will be the high for the day…

  2. Lovely photos! I love the colour of the Blue Jay. I think the American Robin must be a little like our Fieldfares or Redstarts – we’re getting big flocks now the weather is colder.

    • Thank you so much, Melissa. It’s cloudy and cool here again today. But the sun was nice respite yesterday. Maybe it, the sun, will head your way. That Blue Jay was hidden in an adjacent tree for about 15 minutes. I kept my camera aimed all the time waiting for him to appear, then he flew to the next tree, and all of sudden he was in the open for this shot. What fun. Happy weekend to you, too. 🙂

  3. You have such an impressive list of birds you’ve gotten to see! Kind of funny for me to pop in here today and see two birds that are regulars around here for most of the year!

  4. Ok, you’re not going to believe this but….

    One day I was sitting outside, and a bluejay plopped down near me with the body of a bluejay – but the head of a duck!

    I kid you not 😉

  5. Love the shot of the Blue Jay, it seems I have a ton of them around my house in the Spring and Summer months.

    I was cutting a downed Pine tree out of the driveway yesterday and watched a young Red
    tail Hawk takes out a Robin…wish I had it on video.

    Raven

    • Thanks, Raven. Boy, that would have been cool to see that hawk and robin confrontation. I once watched a Bald Eagle steal a duck away from a Red-tailed Hawk. I, too, wish I could have captured that on video, too.

  6. Bob, yes we bird photographers can be hard to please when it comes to light! I’ll take some sunshine though, this week has been gray, snowy & foggy. Today is looking good. A fellow bird photographer flew in last night and we are going shooting today!

    • Really, I will shoot in any light. I just prefer some over others. Of course, you knew that. 🙂
      I’ll be looking forward to seeing the results of you outing today. Happy Shooting!!

Leave a Reply

