Yellow-headed Blackbirds


The end of the year is here, so I think I will show you some posts of photos from earlier in the year.  I don’t think you have seen these shots of the Yellow-headed Blackbird (Xanthocephalus xanthocephalus).  I photographed the top two photos down at the water-treatment ponds at Eldorado, Texas, back in April.  They were wandering along the shoreline of one of the ponds.  The third (bottom) image was captured in September of 2008 at San Angelo State Park, atop a mesquite tree.

Western Texas is on their migratory path.  I saw my first one many years ago, when it landed on our back-yard fence.  Another time we saw one sitting on the roof of the kiosk at the entry to Big Bend National Park  The females, are somewhat non-descript and only about half the size of the male.

Yellow-headed Blackbird

Yellow-headed Blackbird

Yelllow-headed Blackbird

Pertinent photo information:

Photo 1.  Canon 7D with 500mm lens and 1.4 tele-converter.  1/1000 sec. @ f11, -0.3 EV, ISO 640.  Aperture priority.

Photo 2.  Canon 7D with 500mm lens and 1.4 tele-converter.  1/1000 sec. @f11, ISO 800.  Aperture priority

Photo 3.  Canon 40D with 100-400mm zoom lens.  1/5000 sec. @ f5.6, ISO 400. Aperture priority.

I hope you enjoyed the photos.  For more of my images, click my Flickr Logo on the right side of this page.

16 thoughts on “Yellow-headed Blackbirds

  1. This is the first time I’ve seen a bird like this and its so beautiful……loved the shots…esp the second one with the running water in background :-)

  2. Aha!! now I know where my yellow headed black birds are…we have them in the summer here at the Pond and they are such a brilliant splash of color. They do come into our bird feeders when they arrive and just before migrating. Great photos..Have a Happy New Year!!

  3. Hi Mr. Bob :)

    Very nice pictures of Yellow-headed Blackbird. It’s a nice co-incidence that I saw the blackbird today, not the yellow-headed one. I tried to capture it but it was too fast for me. I got a photo, but it’s from quite far away. And now, I’m looking at one in your blog-post. Great! :D

    Thanks for sharing, these are perfectly captured. Stones, Water, and the Sky. :)

Leave a Reply

