By Request – Northern Bobwhite


On one previous post I invited anyone to submit requests if they happened to want to see photos of one particular bird.  So in yesterday’s post, Carolyn Rutherford asked if I had some images of some Northern Bobwhites.  So without further adieu, here is a selection of images of the Northern Bobwhite (Colinus virginanus) that I captured over the past three yearsAll were photographed at San Angelo State Park, San Angelo, Texas.  Carolyn, enjoy.

1. Northern Bobwhite in tree

2. Northern Bobwhite in a tree

3. Northern Bobwhite

4. Northern Bobwhite - female

5. Northern Bobwhite

6. Northern Bobwhite

Exposure information:

Image 1.   Canon 7D, 100-400mm lens, 1/200 sec. @f13 -0.3EV, ISO 400.  Partial metering with aperture priority.

Image 2.   Canon 7D, 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter, 1/500 sec. @ f13 +0.3EV, ISO 800.  Spot metering with aperture priority.

Image 3.   Canon 40D, 100-400mm lens, 1/400 sec. @ f5.6, ISO 640.  Center-weighted average with aperture priority.

Image 4.   Canon 7D, 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter, 1/2500 sec. @ f6.3, ISO 800.  Partial metering with shutter priority.

Image 5.   Canon 7D, 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter, 1/2500 @ f5.6, -0.3EV, ISO 2500.  Partial metering with shutter priority.

Image 6.   Canon 7D, 100-400mm lens, 1/500 sec. @ f11, -0.3EV, ISO 2000.  Partial metering with aperture priority.

30 thoughts on “By Request – Northern Bobwhite

  1. The Bobwhites were my Grandma’s favorite bird. She used to love to imitate them and call them into the yard for feed. I have a painting I did back in July of a bobwhite..will post on my website. I agree with Jim, I never seen them in trees..great photos..

  2. Thank you Bob , I just love these little fellows. I used to hear them when I was a child and thought they were so neat. They always look so elegant and proper. Just like little ladies. Thank and they are so beautiful.. Carolyn Rutherford

  3. Thanks for these, Bob. I know the Bob White voice, but I really don’t think I’ve really seen one before. And I don’t know why. Must have been a favorite of my mother’s. 🙂 Thanks for the photos, Bob. 🙂

Leave a Reply

