The delightful Green Herons


I am having problems lately trying to decide what to post on my blog.  I haven’t been getting out as much as usual these cooler months, so therefore I don’t have new photographs as often as usual.  My wife even complained about the blog yesterday about the Northern Cardinal.  She said it was too short.

Today, I am going back to the archives again.  I don’t remember the last time I wrote about the Green Herons, (Butorides virescens).  They are the shortest of the herons at only 19 inches in length.  But they are delightful to watch.  When they are intent on their hunting, they are almost oblivious to anyone near.

About three years ago, we had our annual Water Lily Festival, at the International Water Lily Garden here in San Angelo, Texas.  There were about 200 people, including city dignitaries, in attendance.  There are five large pools of blooming water lilies from all over the world.  But what stole the show, was a pair of juvenile Green Herons that flew in and started to flit among the water lily pads looking for minnows, etc., much to the delight of the large crowd.

This is a collection of photos that I have of these herons.  Some were taken at that celebration.  Others are from around the San Angelo area.

Green Heron - juvenile with tiny fish

Green Heron - juvenile

Green Heron - adult

Green Heron - on log in river

In the above photo, what appears as little spots are actually little highlights of water in the river.  I was looking down at the heron from about six feet above him.

Green Heron - juvenile on large water lily pad

There you have it.  I hope you enjoyed these photos of the Green Herons.  Click on any of them for enlargements.

49 thoughts on “The delightful Green Herons

  1. I always wondered why they were called Green Heron’s… Those feet and legs clear it up a bit! Speaking of ‘clear’ your photos really pop! Lovely as always Bob. ~ Lynda

  2. Hey Bob – I just love herons and these are no exception! Much smaller and cheekier than I am used to over here but just as interesting! I do hope that everyone clicks on the small images to see the enlargements, because they are stunning in their sharpness and quality!

    Take care!

    John

  3. I love these photos. It is really fun for me to pop over here and see birds I’ve never seen before. Do you know whether these herons are only found in the warmer climates?

    • Thank you very much, Karen. I am really glad that you like to see my birds. The Green Heron is found over most from the mid-west throughout the eastern parts of the U.S., throughout the year. Also a few scattered parts of the west.

    • Yes, Jane, as I told Jo Wolf in her comment, it is really big. Those edges are about 4 inches high. And of course, the heron is a juvenile, so it looks pretty small standing there. Thanks for the comment and compliment. I appreciate it.

  4. Bob,

    Thanks for this post. I love Green Herons. We often have a small rookery in the pines in our yard. I enjoy watching the little ones grow. But among the thick branches, it’s hard to photograph them. Wouldn’t it be a small world if we could prove that “your” herons were “my” herons.

    Blessings,

    Bruce

    • Yes it is a big leaf in that last photo. That leaf is about 5 feet across, too. One of the exotic water lilies, I think, is from South America. Thanks for the great compliment, Jo. I really appreciate it.

  5. I look forward to your posts, no matter how long or short they are. As some one who is a nature photographer, I understand that neither the weather or the critters always cooperate on cue. I didn’t shoot a single photo for three days straight earlier this week, then nearly filled my memory card in one day. That’s the way it goes at times. I love your blog, and I think to myself as I am getting ready to photograph something, “How would Bob do this?” so I thank you for all that I have learned from you!

  6. The photos are absolutely marvelous. I had checked earlier for your post, but nada..so glad I looked again before retreating to the studio and my Common Red Poll birds. The size of the lily pads blows my mind..we have a few here in Colorado, but nothing like yours in Texas. I love the detail of the Green Herons ..especially the first two. Well off to work, but much more enthusiasm than a few minutes ago. Made my day..

  7. Hi Bob

    Uncannily, I was thinking about you today and waiting for your daily post. At the same time I too felt a bit ‘stuck’ re my blog (at least you have archives!)

    I find your blog incredible and inspiring and I think it was one of the first I discovered when I joined WordPress. I have learned so much from your blog – about birds, photography, life. In fact (I hope you don’t mind me saying this) over the last few months of my husband’s illness worsening, your blog has opened my eyes to the wild birds around here, and cheered me up and on.

    I cannot thank you enough.

    Julie

      • Believe it or not, I was working on some photos from our trip to Puerto Rico last week, and some from a cheap digital cam that I bought for a drive past the Guadelupe Mtns this week. As you can see I am traveling the world now… 🙂

        I should have something up on the Mem’ries this weekend. Thank you for staying interested!

Leave a Reply

