Old House at Alpine, Texas


As most of you know, one of my favorite places to visit is the Big Bend area of west Texas.  It encompasses most of the area north of where the Rio Grande river goes southeast, the abruptly turns and goes northeast.  A large vee shaped area.  Alpine is about 80 miles north of the bottom of that vee, at an elevation of around 5000 feet.

North of town is a highway that goes north to Fort Davis, Texas.  Heading out of town a few mile you come upon this old abandoned farmhouse.  Over the years I had passed by, stopped for some photos, but as photogenic as the place looked, I could never come with an image that fit what I saw in my mind.

Finally, a year or two ago, there I was again.  This time I felt that I was going to finally get the right photograph.  I can’t say why I felt that, maybe it was the sky that was different, but I again set up my camera.  The top photo is the original.

Old House on the Prairie - original

Old House on the Prairie - final edit

I opted to crop it as you see in the bottom photo.  I then done some post editing in Photoshop Elements.  That was a couple of years ago and I really don’t remember what all I did to it.  But I like it. :-)

Click photos to see enlargements.

Canon EOS7D with 24-105mm zoom lens.  1/400 sec. @ f8, ISO 400.

34 thoughts on “Old House at Alpine, Texas

  1. Great photos, Bob! Quite a change from the ‘tweeties’! It is odd to hear someone I am getting to know talking about places that are for me, expressly from cowboy movies! Places such as Texas, the Rio Grande, Big Bend, and the mention of Fort Davis, conjure up memories of TV programmes such as Laramie, Bronco Lane, Bonanza, Wagon Train, Cheyenne and Gunsmoke, to name but a few! Tell me, is the roof on that house covered in corrugated iron sheets? If it is, wouldn’t that have made living in it rather unbearable in the heat you have there? Great ‘alternative’ post, Bob!

    Cheers

    John

    • I have to agree with you, John, about the heat getting unbearable with that tin or metal roof. And I get a chuckle about you saying that these places remind you of the TV programs. I think you need to visit here sometime to visit the experience of the west. And it isn’t too far from how you imagine it to be. :-)

    • Thank you very much, Rob. My blog is mostly about birding, birds and photography in general. But I’ll dig around in my archives and watch for something more like this. I do like to post off subject once in a while. And I like to please my readers. :-)

  2. I love that type of roof line, I’m not sure what it’s called. I rarely, if ever, go look at my past homes. But, if it looked like that – I probably would.

  3. hi Bob; I like the blue/orange complimentary colours as well as the scrubs and bushes around the house-a true prairie portrait and I just noticed that there are two gables. i wonder if it is an old “catalogue” house?

    • Hi Jane. Thank you for the great comment. It is quite possible that it is an old “catalogue” house. Back in the early 1900s it wasn’t unusual to order a house from Sears-Roebuck. I know for a fact, at least one was purchased by a rancher that ordered one and erected it under the “Window” formation in the Chisos Mountains.

  4. If walls could talk..what stories of history lie hidden ..great job..love the effect..I agree, it has a painterly essence about it. Have a great day..today is my Oriole painting day…it has been fun and sunny oranges to work in as snow clouds are building..take care

Leave a Reply

