Random Sunday Morning Images


After the rains the past few days, I got out of the house for a few minutes this morning.  It was cool and damp.  I drove by San Angelo State Park to see if anything was stirring.  Not much action there, then I drove by the little pond in the Bluffs Addition.  Here are a few images from my expedition.  All were taken with my Canon EOS 7D with 100-400mm lens.  I will put exposure information beneath each photo.  Click on any of them to see an enlargement.

Northern Bobwhite

Northern Bobwhite, (Colinus virginianus).  1/640 sec. @ f7.1,  ISO 2000.

Curve-billed Thrasher

Curve-billed Thrasher(Toxostoma curvirostre).  1/640 sec. @ f9, ISO 3200.

Spotted Towhee

Spotted Towhee, (Pipilo maculatus).  1/400 sec @f9, ISO 3200.

American Wigeon

American Wigeon, (Anas americana).  1/640 sec. @ f9, ISO 800.

42 thoughts on “Random Sunday Morning Images

  1. Your (texas) thrasher and towhee are so similar to ours (georgia), yet just a little different. It is so much fun to see the photos of your birds – both because they are such nice images, and also because it’s neat to see the slight variations that occur with the geographic difference.

    • Yes, the towhees used to be called as just the Eastern Spotted, I think, then the American Birding Association decided to split the two. Thank, Shelly, for your kind words. 🙂

  2. All wonderful image. I’m particularly impressed with how you’ve shown the bobwhite so clearly against the busy ground. He couldn’t have been terribly easy to see, let alone capture so clearly.

  3. Ah, this is a great post. You reminded me of my mom (she loved Bob Whites); and then the Towhee and the Thrasher, two birds I know (adore the Towhee, and the Thrasher, well, love that beak 🙂 ). And I’ll take any old duck any day. 🙂

    Thanks, Bob!

  4. That bobwhite has the perfect camoflage. It must be your experienced eye that allows you to see them, and others, so well (like the bluebird I still hope to spot some day!) Are you adding these birds to the Great Backyard Bird Count?

    • I must admit that I find it easier to see these birds than I used to. I guess I am getting my eye ‘trained’. It rained heavily over the weekend and I didn’t get out until late. I didn’t add them to the GBBC. Thanks for the comment, Karen. 🙂

  5. Bob, you must have incredible patience and very keen eyesight. I don’t think I would be able to spot the Northern Bobwhite. It blends right into its environment! Very nice!

  6. Bob, I live in the Bluffs, just a couple of blocks from the pond near the intersection of Hunters Glen Road and Melrose and a short walk from the two ponds near Grape Creek Hwy. Which was the setting for these photos? Where and at what time am I more likely to spot some of these beautiful creatures?

    • Hi Jerry,
      The top three photos were taken at the San Angelo State Park, just up the road from where you live. The bottom one, the American Wigeon was taken at the Bluffs Pond just off of 2288, turn on Stratford. The settings are under each photo. The Wigeon, some White Geese, and Ring-necked Ducks can be found in that pond, too. You can see them at almost any time.
      I didn’t know about your pond, is there anything in there. Call me soon at 944-1839, and we’ll talk. 🙂 Might see you again Wednesday morning.

  7. Isn’t nature just marvelous? There seems to be an endless array of shapes, forms, and colors. Your photos are capturing all of them..especially like the Spotted Towhee..food and all.we too have new snow, but its okay to keg up and watch our feeders..Thanks again for sharing..

  8. Very lovely images Bob, I am especially fond of the Bobwhite because I remember them so vividly from my youth. Love the food in the Towhee’s bill!

    I woke to 4 inches of fresh snow this morning and cloudy skies, maybe tomorrow I’ll get to go out into the field! I get cabin fever when I don’t go shooting for a few days!

    • I hear you, Mia. Because of constant rain, I have had cabin fever the past two days. I was finally able to get out this morning.

      Thanks for the kind words on my photos. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  9. Your blog reminds us to take a closer look at what’s going on around us. And, if we’re very lucky, we’ll find immense beauty hiding somewhere above.

    Or, below.

    Birdwatchers. We are fortunate that you people are around…

Leave a Reply

