Return from Big Bend – Part III


I need to digress a bit.  Actually before we entered the Big Bend National Park the previous day, we stopped at Post Park in Marathon, Texas.  It is a neat little place about 5 miles south of the city.  A small creek flows through the park, and it had

been recently stocked with 2,000 small Rainbow Trout.  There were many people there, all with their chilldren trying their luck at making the catch of the day.  So any birding activity was brief.  However, we did catch a photos of a Lark Bunting, (Calamospiza melanocorys), and a Sage Thrasher, (Oreoscoptes montanus).

After our little trip to the Rio Grande Village, we ended up staying in a little “casita” at Far Flung Outdoor Center in Study Butte.  This village

Sage Thrasher

is about three miles outside the west entrance to the BBNP.  Our room had a nice porch with rocking chairs overlooking the large courtyard that was planted with a variety of desert plants.  There were also bird feeders around and I got a nice photograph of a female Pyrrhuloxia, (Cardinalis sinuatus).

That evening we decided to eat at one our favorite night spots in the Study Butte/Terlingua area.  The place is call La Kiva, meaning ‘the cave’.  A fun delightful spot that serves excellent coussine and cold margaritas.

female Pyrrhuloxia at a feeder

That is, of course, ahem, if you indulge in that sort of stuff. 🙂  But, alas, Ann and I have mellowed in our ages and we are pretty much early birds.  After we split a 12 oz. rib-eye steak and each a margarita, we headed back to our motel.  The following morning we wanted to head to Sam Neal’s ranch for some birding.  And that, of course will be after we have a great breakfast at the Roadrunner Deli.  Frank Jones, the owner will have our coffee ready.

28 thoughts on “Return from Big Bend – Part III

  1. Neat story and photos Bob. I especially love those Sage Thrashers – Mia and I always look forward to their return to Antelope Island every year – haven’t seen any yet though. And yes, I DO indulge in “that sort of stuff”…

  2. Can’t wait to read the next installment, I have not seen either bird. But hey! A local birder spotted 4 sandhill cranes yesterday near our refuge. WOOP WOOP. And I swear I heard a Red-Winged Blackbird yesterday! They are arriving back slowly, but surely!

    • I guess I better get busy. I love those sandhill cranes. We have a few around here, but I saw my first one last year in New Mexico. Go figure. The Red-winged Blackbirds are pretty common around here. But, yeah, Spring!! Bring it on!! Thanks for your comments, Sheila. I enjoy reading them. 🙂

  3. I just realized something, Bob. If I ever do visit Texas, all’s I have to do it pull your website up on my cell phone – and use it as a travel guide 😉

    That little cafe looks good – wow.

    Thanks for the tips, besides the beautiful pics 🙂

  4. Just catching up on your Big Bend trip, congrats on lifer 243, that is so amazing! Sounds like you had a great time, and the photos so far are spectacular as usual. I love the female Pyrrhuloxia, what a beauty of a shot. Keep the photos coming!

    Oh, ahem, I do indulge in a margarita or two here & there….got a Margaritaville margarita machine that helps keep me cool while I photograph from the balcony during the hot summer months. LOL 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Donna, for the great compliments. It sounds like know how to enjoy yourself, too. 🙂

      I agree, I think I like that Pyrrhuloxia photo, too. It came out better than I thought it would. 🙂

  5. So glad you’re back Bob!! I think I still have your first return post to catch up on. (: These would be first time spottings for me! xo

  6. The photos are great as usual..it is amazing how each species blends into its environment. Sounds like you had a gooood time…steak sounded delicious..Look forward to tomrrow’s post. We have snow coming in again..so our feeders will be busy, blessed today with Stellar Jays, and beautiful Tri-colored black birds..all in mating colors..Spring is here? Snow and all…have a good evening..

    • Ah, Syl. You always write such nice comments. Your bird feeders must be quite entertaining, with such beautiful birds that you have. I need to visit you. 🙂

  7. Thanks for the plug Bob. Maria and I always enjoy yours and Ann’s company and so do our locals. You’ve always got a kind word , story or funny anecdote for whomever is there.. Hope to see ya’ll again soon…Keep up the great pictures and blog…

    • Thanks, Frank. Ann and I almost feel like residents there. We have met so many interesting people there. We will be back in late September, if not before. I appreciate you and Maria reading my stuff.

Leave a Reply

