Hall of Fame – UPDATE


There was a bit of confusion in the information that I got about me and the band, The Cavaliers, being inducted into the Hall of Fame.  Actually, the band was inducted into the Rockabilly Hall of Fame, in Nashville, Tennessee, not the West Texas Music Hall of Fame that I described in my post previously.  That puts us in stellar company with Elvis Presley, Big Bopper, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens and a veratible host of other big name stars.  It was only J. Frank Wilson that got elected to that West Texas Music HOF, as his name was on the Last Kiss record with the Cavaliers.  He was a member of the band, the lead singer.

The book, that I described, Rockabilly Heaven, is available from www.westexmusichof.com.  It was written by Sid Holmes who was the leader of the Cavaliers.  It chronicles the history of The Cavaliers from 1956 thru 1964.  It also gives a thorough story of the rock-a-billy music from that era in west Texas.  There is a blurb about me along with a fine photo.  I was described as San Angelo’s “best kept secret”.

I thought it was important that I straighten out my errors in that previous post.  I am not one to dwell on such matters about different Halls of Fame.  Such things are nice, but I still only get my senior discount when I buy a cup of coffee. 🙂

12 thoughts on “Hall of Fame – UPDATE

  1. Congrats are still in order…..as far as the coffee discounts go, every little bit helps.

    Hope you guys have a great day.

    Raven

Leave a Reply

