More Pre-Easter Photos


I might as well continue where I left off, writing the previous post about Ann’s and my little trip to Middle Concho Park.  Let’s see where was I?  Oh, yes, I wrote about seeing our first Black-crowned Night Heron of the season.  That was pretty neat.  However, after that we continued on the little drive along the river and through the park.  We saw the following species.  I more or less will let the images themselves do most of the talking.  All photographs were taken with my two Canon EOS 7Ds.  Click on the photos to see enlargements.

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

We were surprised to see two Black-bellied Whistling Ducks, strolling through the park, paying no attention to us.  They really do whistle, by the way.  The light wasn’t very good but  I shot from the car using my Canon 100-400mm lens.  1/1250 sec. @f5.6, -0.3EV, ISO 160.

Great Blue Heron

Then, we spotted a Great Blue Heron, and of course, it was on the opposite side of the river.  I unloaded the tripod and got the shot with my Canon 500mm lens and 1.4 tele-converter.  1/1250 sec. @ f6.3 -0.3EV, ISO 100.

Black-crested Titmouse

We spotted this Black-crested Titmouse in a tree, preening his feathers.  He was a little cutie.  It looks like he could use a little grooming job done on him.  Again, I got this shot from the car window using my Canon 100-400mm zoom lens.  1/640 sec. @f6.3, ISO 200.

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

We came upon a Ladder-backed Woodpecker scurrying around in a tree.  It was moving pretty fast, so I stopped the car and got out and moved around a bit, trying not to attract the bird’s attention.  I finally found a spot to shoot it through some branches.  I used my trusty Canon 100-400mm zoom lens again.  1/500 sec. @ f8, -0.3EV, ISO 500.

Great Egret

Along the way, we again spotted a Great Egret doing some stalking for prey.  Where else, but across the river again.  What is it about the other side of the river?  Seriously, in all honesty, the best shot was when they are on the other side of the river, even though the distance is about 150 yards.  If they were on this (my) side of the river, it would have been difficult to find a good shooting position.  So I needed to get my tripod out again for the long shot.  Canon 500mm lens with a 1.4 tele-converter.  I love this shot, the way the egret stands out from the background.  1/1250 sec. @f5.6, -0.3EV, ISO 100.

Here was an easy one.  I passed a tree and the Northern Mockingbird was only about 10 feet away on a tree branch.  Easy shot.  Handled easily with my Canon 100-400mm zoom lens.  1/400 sec. @ f22, -0.3EV, ISO 3200.

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

On the way out of the park, I spotted another Scissor-tailed Flycatcher and I couldn’t resist getting that final shot.  So we then headed for the house so I could get busy planning for this post.  Canon 100-400mm zoom lens.  1/500 sec. @ f8, -0.3EV, ISO 160.

I hope you enjoyed these photos.  Happy Easter everyone. 🙂

29 thoughts on “More Pre-Easter Photos

  1. Bob, I saw a Great Blue Heron on Hobbs Island by the Tennessee river today. [My] Bob thought it was a female and that she had a nest there…

    Looking through my camera’s zoom lens I was able to correctly identify it as a male because of the lovely cape of feathers he wore. FUN!

    And thank you for teaching me that through your blog. 😉
    ~Lynda

    • That’s great, Lynda. I am proud of you. 🙂 I am glad that you and others are getting a lot out of my blog. Where in Tennessee do you live. I ask because I have a dear friend in Knoxville, and she and I once photographed a bunch of the Black-crowned Night Herons near the Tennessee River.

      Ain’t birding fun?? 🙂

      • Actually, I live in Alabama in the Tennessee Valley, only 4 miles from the border of TN. Today we went to a place called “Ditto Landing” which is on the TN. River. This is below Huntsville, AL. And yes, though not an official birder, it was fun to know what I was looking at and to be able to share. ~ L

  2. As usual your photos are awesome. The Whistling Duck was a new for me..love the Titmouse..they are one of my favorite what I call clinging birds..Take care and can’t wait to see what is coming next..you all are so blessed with a wide variety of birds that we don’t get here in Colorado..Happy Easter..

  3. I love your photos, Bob! And well remember the good day last Saturday in which you were our fearless leader! Thank you again! It was memorable, and I appreciate so very much your taking time to show us the good birding in San Angelo!

    • Hi Bera. Nice to hear from you. I, too, remember what a great time I had with you guys, too. I joined the BCAS so maybe I can join you on some of your field trips. Thanks for the kind words on my photos. :-0

  4. Wow! Your photos are inspiring! I love all of them but especially the Black-Bellied Whistling Duck and the Northern Mockingbird. Have you checked out my photos of the Black-Bellied Whistling Duck? Just a few days ago I was able to photograph a mocking bird at a close range. I used the cropping technique you have talked about and they came out pretty well, of course not as good as yours. I’ll probably post those today.

    • I just checked out your blog, and subscribed to it. You have some amazing photos. I like your Black-bellied Whistling Duck photos. Very well exposed. Your Indian Paintbrush photos took my breath away. Fantastic! I’ll watch for your mockingbird photo. Thanks for visiting.

  5. Wonderful images Bob! I loved the Black-bellied Whistling Ducks I used to see in Florida and now I miss seeing them here but I can enjoy your images of them! I would love to get images of the Black-crested Titmouse, they are gorgeous.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Mia. I agree with you about the Titmouses. They are gorgeous and real cuties. I hope you get a chance to photograph one soon, but not sure if they ever get into Utah.

Leave a Reply

