Great Horned Owl and others


After I published yesterday’s post about my great birding day, I went back over the images.  I had been in a hurry when I selected that photo of the Great Horned Owl, as I wanted to get the post published.  Now that I have had more time, I have found another image of the owl that is more exceptable.  I had taken photos from different positions.  This one I had nixed because of the twig over the face, but on further review it doesn’t look that bad.  Besides, the exposure turned out a little better.  Shot with my Canon EOS 7D and 100-400mm lens.  1/1600 sec. @ f5.6, +0.7EV, ISO 2000.

Great Horned Owl

Besides that picture, I was able to get these.

House Finch

House Finch, photo taken at the bird blind at San Angelo State Park.  100-400mm lens, 1/1250 sec. @ f6.3, +0.3EV, ISO 2500.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker also at the bird blind at San Angelo SP.  One of my favorite subjects.  These woodpeckers are so photogenic.  100-400mm lens, 1/1250 sec. @ f5.6, -0.3EV, ISO 1000.

Western Grebe

Western Grebe enjoying the water in the Middle Concho River.  A rare appearance for this bird.  He was a little further downstream, so I had to drive through the boonies, then hike through the brush, cactus and trees to get to the shoreline.  That was while carrying my tripod with the Canon 7D with the heavy 500mm lens and 1.4 teleconverter.  This plus trying to avoid stepping into various varment holes and watching out for rattlesnakes.  1/1000 sec. @ f10, -1 step EV, ISO, 320.

Osprey

Osprey just hanging out in a favorite tree along the Middle Concho River.  100-400mm lens, 1.1600 sec. @ f6.3, +0.3EV, ISO 320.

There is still time to vote in my Bird ID quiz.  Click here to see the photo and vote.  Results will be published on Friday the 20th.

32 thoughts on “Great Horned Owl and others

  1. Ha! Ha! I find it so strange to read about Texas things such as watching out for ‘varmint’ holes and rattlesnakes! I love it! Always takes me back to watching Texan cowboy movies when I was a ‘bairn’! Magic photographs as usual, Bob!

    Cheers

    John

  2. When I was young and living in Kingsville, Texas, we had a Great Horned Owl that lived in the hackberry tree in the back yard. Until Hurricane Beulah took out the hackberry tree. That’s the only Great Horned Owl I’ve ever seen in the wild.

    • The Great Horned is the only I ever see around here, except for a one-time sighting of a Barn Owl, and I missed the shot. Come to San Angelo, you might get lucky. 🙂

  3. I super love the Western Grebe, especially knowing and appreciating what it took you to get the shot! Gotta say I love the osprey too, and glad you put the GHO first and osprey last, since osprey’s worst enemy is the GHO! LOL True but just teasin’ ya! Great photos all way round, Bob!

  4. Great update, Bob! I agree… I like the exposure better on this one. Question: I’m looking to upgrade my lens collection and was thinking of purchasing the 100-400mm. These photos are awesome but was just wondering your opinion about the lens. Great post and I cannot wait to see the results from the quiz 🙂

    • You definitely can not go wrong purchasing the 100-400mm. It is an awesome lens, tack-sharp. Excellent for wildlife photography. Thanks for commenting, Polly. (Results will be out tomorrow.):-)

  5. Love the owl..he looks as though he is pondering on something special with a word of wisdom for all who would listen..I agree the woodpeckers are very photographic..neat shot with the orange which picks up the orange/red color on his head. The western grebe is a real beauty..so stately.. and the Osprey is awesome..they seem to always be on the move when we see them at the lake..can’t wait until tomorrows post..take care as I am off to the studio to paint an eagle today..

    • Thanks for the great comment, Syl. I appreciate all of your kidn words. Have a great time painting your eagle. I know that will look awesome when you’re finished. 🙂

  6. Great pics!!! I need to share some of the birds that visit my yard. I have a pic of a woodpecker that looks similar to the one you shared. Thanks also for sharing the specs on the photos and equip. Maybe one day I’ll figure out how to work my Rebel T3i.

Leave a Reply

