Painted Bunting, Pyrrhuloxia and Western Kingbird


Here are a few more images from our sucessful birding over the weekend.  All were taken at San Angelo State Park.  We saw so many birds that it took me extra time to organize and edit them.  First up is the beautiful Painted Bunting, (Passerina ciris).  I shot this and the Pyrrhuloxia both with my Canon 7D and 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter.  Bunting exposure was 1/250 sec @f8, +0.7EV, ISO 3200.

Painted Bunting

Next is this nice shot of a Western Kingbird, (Tyrannus verticalis).  This bird just arrived in the area a few days ago.  Exposure 1/1250 sec. @ f6.3, +0.7EV, ISO 2000.  Canon EOS 7D and Canon 100-400mm lens.  Hand-held.

Western Kingbird

Who can forget the gorgeous red and gray tones of the Pyrrhuloxia, (Cardinalis sinusatus).  That is pronounced Pie-rule-loxia.  A beautiful bird in the cardinal family.

Pyrrhuloxia

Enjoy the pictures and click on any of them to see an enlargment of each.  Voting is still open until Thursday afternoon in our weekly bird quiz #3.  Click on this link:  BirdQuiz  then make your selection.  Good luck!

36 thoughts on “Painted Bunting, Pyrrhuloxia and Western Kingbird

  1. Bob, I know that you love being in the right place at the right time to get that “once-in-a-lifetime” shot. I also know that you have a great reverence for ospreys. I think you and your readers will really appreciate the majesty of the Big O in this video clip. http://goo.gl/i6g4L The clip is courtesy of a friend in the F.L.A.

  2. All three are excellent photos Bob. Great subjects too. I’ve always wondered how Pyrrhuloxia was pronounced. We’re seeing an occasional kingbird now (finally) but I still don’t have any shots of them this spring.

    • Thanks for your great comment, Ron. I am glad to give that English lesson, heehee. 🙂 I am going to try and find some of that “noodle” today.

  3. I can see why you love photographing birds so much – they are absolutely gorgeous! I’ve never seen anything like these around here, so thank you for always sharing your amazing work!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Holly, for your gracious comment. You are right, I am passionate for photographing the amazing birds around here. I wish you could see them, too.

  4. Appreciated the enunciation for the last one!! Gorgeous shots Bob. Now I’m anxious for the arrival of “my” Eastern Kingbirds. (:

  5. I guess you had a fantastic day with your camera. The Painted Bunting is a real beauty. the Western Kingbird has his own charm with just a splash of rich lemon yellow color to offset his neutral tones..beautiful.and of course the bird none of us can pronounce is a remarkable creation. What’s on deck for tomorrow?? I am doing a cougar on picture jasper..next week will be bird week in the studio..thanks again for sharing of yourself in your writings and photos..

  6. Wonderful pictures of beautiful birds. That painted bunting is just gorgeous. Thanks for these shots, as I’ll never see these in RL.

Leave a Reply

