Quiz #4 Results and More Yellow-crowned Night Herons


First an announcement starting Monday my quizzes will be run from Monday until Friday.  In other words I will publish a new one on Monday, then the results on Friday.  This will make it so you don’t have to wait so long for results, and also give me more time in between to create the new ones.

So, Happy Friday to you and let’s get right to it.  I know that you have been waiting in anticipation for the results of my fourth “What Bird is This” quiz.  Here is the original photograph.

As you can see, the correct name is Western Scrub Jay, with 37 votes.  Here are the alternate photos and the votes they garnered.

Blue Grosbeak – 22 votes

Mexican Jay – 5 votes

Blue Jay – 4 votes

Eastern Bluebird 3 votes

Congrats to the people that decided that it was indeed a Western Scrub Jay.  Better luck to the rest of you in Quiz #5 that will be published Monday  morning, as soon as I get my devious mind to work on it. 🙂

In other news, I went back to “K-Mart Creek” to see if the Yellow-crowned Night Heron was still there, and it turned out to be that there were three of them.  Anyway, I got a couple more photos to share here.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Yellow-crowned Night Heron with food

Enjoy the photos and click on any of them to see an enlargement.

16 thoughts on “Quiz #4 Results and More Yellow-crowned Night Herons

  1. You just never know what you’ll find where! It’s really neat to find not one but three on your next visit. Nice-looking heron, I’ve not seen one before. My ‘Walmart Pond’ has been too quiet last several weeks, but I still check it out every day as I pass by on my way to/from work. 🙂

  2. I took the wrong guess. But hey, I got a consolation prize this week! I saw my first Blue Grossbeak when I was out hiking this week!!! No photo, he was too camera shy and I was too slow. Ah well, another day then.

    Bob, without all your lovely photographs I would never know what I was looking at. So thank you! 🙂 ~ Lynda

  3. Yeah!! so far I am batting 100% on the quiz. I love that Blue Grosbeak. We have the Evening Grosbeak here and they are really a delightful bird to view at the feeders. So glad
    Ann is over the eye thing. It encourages me as I will be doing this probably next spring. Take care and what’s next??? Saw a sub species of Bald Eagle while in Arizona. I am really going to have to dig out some info as they look just like a Bald Eagle (lol), but are on an endangered species list.

    • I may be making these quizzes too easy. Ha!Ha! About that eye surgery, it is a piece of cake, takes only about 7 minutes for the actual procedure. Fantastic results. You’ll love it. 🙂

  4. Well good – I improved my average on this quiz. Monday now takes on a positive note of waiting for the next one! This Yellow-crowned Night Heron is one beautiful bird. There are abundant water areas here now after the wonderful rain, so a birding trip is on the to-do list today. As usual, your devious mind has challenged me! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

