Quiz No. 7 – New Bird Quiz


For this week’s quiz I am going to change it up a bit and see how you like it.  One of the photos is a Bronzed Cowbird, (Molothrus aeneus).  Look them over closely, consult your guides, and vote below to select which photo you think it is.  Also, I would like you to comment at the end, and tell me how you like this format versus the older one that I used for the first six quizzes.

Photo A

Photo B

Photo C

Photo D

Photo E

Select from these photos, A, B, C, D, or E, and tell me which one is the Bronzed Cowbird.  Put a check mark next to your choice and click Vote.  Click any image to enlarge.  Good luck.  Answer will be published on Friday.

Comment below and please and tell me how you like these quizzes.  Which style do you like best.  Do you have some more ideas to share?

18 thoughts on “Quiz No. 7 – New Bird Quiz

  1. Hey Bob! I like both formats… it’s nice to spice things up a bit! I was torn between two photos but it seems like (according to those who have already voted) that I may have guessed right. Great quiz! 🙂

  2. Bob, thanks as always for your time in putting together these quizzes! I think both formats improve my birding skills! Perhaps you could use both now and then?

  3. I like this format. When out in the field, one has to look very closely to make a positive ID. Not only feathers, but beak shape/color, eyes, feet/legs, small markings etc. Especially when similar species are present in the same location. Good job Bob!

    • Thank you, David. I agree with you on all of your points. As I told Beth, I’ll probably mix them up a bit so I can please everyone. It is hard coming up with these, anyway, as I try to incorporate my own photos. But I am not complaining, I am having a great time doing this.

  4. I like the first style better but I did enjoy this. Maybe a combo of the two will keep us sharp and also challenge you to challenge us! Thanks for doing this Bob.

  5. It’s hard to say after just the first quiz with the new format, but I think that I liked the old one better. It was more like real birding. You gave us a photo of a bird, much like we would see while we were out birding, them we had to ID it. The new format seems too easy, you have given us the name, all we have to do is match a photo. Besides, old farts like me hate change of any type anyway. 😉

    • Thanks for you comment, Mark. I think you are right, but I wanted to try something different. I’ll probably go back to the old. I’ll wait and see what others have to say.

Leave a Reply

