Blue Grosbeak and more…….


Last week was a little slow for me.  I didn’t get out to do much shooting as I usually do.  But when I did get out I managed to get a few keepers.  Here area few from a trip to the water treatment ponds at Eldorado, Texas.

Female Blue Grosbeak in yucca plant.

Female Blue Grosbeak., (Passerina caerulea).  Exposure was 1/2000 sec. @ f5.6, ISO 640.  Canon 500mm f4 lens with 1.4 tele-converter.

Cattle Egret

Cattle Egret, (Bubulcus ibis).  Exposure 1/2000 sec. @ f6.3, ISO 400.  Canon 500mm lens with 1.4 tele-converter.

Great-tailed Grackle

Great-tailed Grackle, (Quiscalus mexicanus).  Exposure 1/2000 sec. @ f6.3 -1.3EV, ISO 100.  Canon 500mm lens with 1/4 tele-converter.

Snowy Egret

This Snowy Egret, (Egretta thula), appears to be staring at the insect in front of his face.  Exposure 1/1600 sec. @ f5.6, -0,7EV, ISO 100.  Canon 100-400mm lens.

Blue Jay on fence

This Blue Jay, (Cyanocitta cristata), was photographed after we got back into town.  He was sitting on a fence in residential area.  I grabbed a quick shot from the car with my Canon 7D and 100-400mm lens.  Exposure 1/320 sec. @ f5.6, +0.7EV, ISO 3200.

Click on any image to see enlargements.

22 thoughts on “Blue Grosbeak and more…….

    • That photo is my favorite of the bunch. I took several images if that bird in the yucca, then a few more when she was on some prickly pear. I had never seen a female of that species before. A very pretty bird.

  1. I had forgotten how many birds i could see at water-treatment ponds until you mentioned it. Nice to see the female grosbeak and the egrets never seen them here.

Leave a Reply

