Say it isn’t so, Bob, say it isn’t so…..


Yep.  It happened again.  Last Friday morning I had another gall stone attack.  A really, really, bad, wall-clawing type.  This is four months after having my gall bladder removed.  They hauled me away in an ambulance, kicking and screaming.  I know, I am making it sound dramatic, but I am still trying to keep this readable for ages 13 and older.

After arrival at the hospital, they started pumping me full of drugs morphine and sent me to LaLaland.  While in that stupor for the weekend, they ran tests, an X-ray, a sonogram, a CT scan.  Then after finding nothing, they decided on an MRI.  I opted for the open one;  (I don’t want to get stuck in that tube.)  There, they discovered two stones that were missed in the previous surgery.  They were hidden in the viaduct bile duct, what ever that is.

Would you believe that three days before, I had my usual 6 month check-up and was pronounced man-of-the-year in perfect health.  Go figure.

So now you know why you haven’t heard from me for awhile.  As you can understand, it will take me a few days to get back to what is normal for me.  So bear with me and I will be getting back out and trying to get some new photos for you soon.

58 thoughts on “Say it isn’t so, Bob, say it isn’t so…..

  1. Oh no Bob! You’ve got my vote for Man of The Year! Glad they resolved the issue too. Hugs to your lovely bride too as I’m sure she was more than a bit concerned about you being in such great pain. Hugs!

  2. Hopefully you had some relief at finding an answer especially after having the gall bladder removed. I can’t imagine how scary (and painful) that must have felt so wish you a speedy recovery,a Merry Christmas and many more hours of happy birding.

  3. Oh no, Bob! I really hope you are on the mend now. You just take care of yourself and don’t worry at all about taking photos for your blog followers. Take your time and we wish you the very best of health and happiness.

    • Thanks, Jo. I really love your comments. All is well now. It is hard to believe that my attack was exactly one week ago, and as I type this I feel back to normal. With Laproscopic surgery I guess anything is possible. Amazing.

  4. SORRY TO HEAR OF YOUR LATEST EPISODE. HOPE YOU ARE FEELING MUCH BETTER. I WAS LUCKY I ONLY HAD ONE ATTACK AND HAD LAPROSCOPIC SURGERY. I WAS UP AND BACK WORKING IN A WEEK I FOUND YOUR DISK I WILL KEEP IT FOR YOU .I ENJOY YOUR BIRD PICTURES AND ADVENTURES. JEAN MCSWAIN .

    On Thu, 13 Dec 2012 23:38:24 +0000 Texas Tweeties by Bob Zeller

  5. Add my wishes for your speedy recovery to the collection. I was starting to go through the emails to see when you had posted last and if I’d missed something. Happy to hear you are on the mend. The birds will be glad to see you again.

  6. I am so sorry to hear you are suffering health issues Bob! Take care of yourself and get better. Looking forward to more of your beautiful photos when you recover.

  7. I was beginning to wonder if maybe you were on sick leave. Glad to hear you are on the mend and hope to see you next Wednesday. Don’t know whether you were making good copy about the bile duct, but that is the duct that carries all the stuff the liver produces to the small intestine. I am familiar with it because I had a malignant tumor that completely occluded it, and in so doing probably saved my life. When the liver is in effect cut off, jaundice sets in and you get yellow all over.That is what got me to the hospital and the tumor was removed before it got out of control. Otherwise it was painless.

  8. I was beginning to worry about you as there had been no bird posts..you take care of yourself and get healed up again..we miss you..and you still have a great sense of humor..God Bless..prayers going up for you

Leave a Reply

