American Kestrels – Feisty cuties


We are having rainy weather here in San Angelo.  The nasty, drizzly, dreary kind of stuff that tends to keep a person indoors.  So what does a guy do, when he has hundreds (thousands?) of photos in his files.  I decided to see what I had of interest.  There has been a lot of interest lately in the American Kestrels.  Lo and behold, I discovered that I had a bunch of images that may or not have ever been seen before with the human eye in one of my posts.  In short, I think that I have never posted some of them before.   So here for your enjoyment are a few of those that I think were photographed in early 2011, or somewhere around there.  Click on the images to see some really great enlargements.

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

This American Kestrel, as you can see was watching me intently, and shortly he took of from that little branch.  The following two images are immediately after that.

American Kestrel in flight.

American Kestrel in flight.

American Kestrel in flight.

American Kestrel in flight.

In the next two, this Kestrel can’t make up his mind whether to trust me or not.  He keeps looking back at me.  I wonder if he strained his neck in the second image.

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

I think this one below is getting ready to go on a hunt.

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

Hunt accomplished.  Looks like a good meal to me.

American Kestrel with a noon time lunch.

American Kestrel with a noon time lunch.

A successful hunt, catching a small field mouse.  I hope you enjoyed these photos.  I’ll be back another day with maybe more surprises.  It depends on how long these rainy days last.

46 thoughts on “American Kestrels – Feisty cuties

  1. Hi Bob,I like your photos, I am from Holland (Amsterdam) and use a Cannon G9, now a G12, but i dont like my photos anymore. I cant make macro’s anymore. Greetings, Karin Kracher

  2. I love kestrels, they are so colourful and not always easy to get a photo of. really like these Bob, as well as the commentary which gave me a chuckle re the neck strain.Have fun going through the files and i am sure you will be back out there soon. Jane

  3. This is a cutie. I am amazed at how you find these birds and get such beautiful photos. Thanks, Jean McSwain

    On Wed, 9 Jan 2013 13:25:24 +0000 Texas Tweeties by Bob Zeller

  4. Thanks for taking the time to dig those up, it was a shame that they were buried, so to speak. The shots you have been posting of the kestrels has made me decide that the next time we’re forecast to have any sun on a weekend, I’m heading to Muskegon to chase them around some more!

  5. Great series of a good looking bird! The “I can still see you” photo and the in flight photos are wonderful! Your persistence paid off – thanks for sorting and sharing. I know you are a bit stir crazy, but the moisture is a blessing. Keep sorting – I like what you come up with. hugs

  6. Gotta love drive-mode for on-the-flight shots! Great captures. Birds of prey do their job well, which is why I when hawks squat on my property. We see kestrels mainly on the high wires overlooking a couple of alfalfa fields as were driving to and fro.

  7. A beautiful species, well photographed, Bob. I’m especially impressed with the flight shots. Getting a kestrel in flight when it isn’t taking off or hovering is a very difficult task. Well done.

Leave a Reply

