Red-tailed Hawk and Swainson’s Hawk


More about my favorite subjects, the raptors.  These two species of hawks, the Red-tailed and the Swainson’s, can cause ID difficulties to the unsuspected.  They are similar in shape and sizes.  The adult Red-tailed is easy to identify by checking out the red tail.  But beware, the younger ones have yet to get that color into the tail.  As for the Swainson’s, the adult has that unmistakeable brown bib.

Anyway, here is an adult Red-tailed Hawk that I photographed Thursday afternoon at Middle Concho Park here in San Angelo.

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk

Here is a Red-tailed Hawk in flight that I photographed several months ago.

Red-tailed Hawk in flight

Red-tailed Hawk in flight

Below are a few images of the Swainson’s Hawk.

Swainson's Hawk

Swainson’s Hawk

Swainson's Hawk

Swainson’s Hawk

The next photo isn’t too great aesthetically, but we happened to come across the adult Swainson’s Hawk protecting her baby from he brutal 110 degree Texas sun that day, about a year ago.

Adult Swainson's Hawk shielding her baby from the hot sun.

Adult Swainson’s Hawk shielding her baby from the hot sun.

Click on any image to see an enlargement.

Here is something new that I have added to my blog.  Click here to see my new website featuring my Fine Art Gallery.  I have just started adding photos to it so you will have to check it periodically, as it is a work in progress.  I hope you like it.  From there you just gaze at my work, and if you get interested in buying, you can also do that.

26 thoughts on “Red-tailed Hawk and Swainson’s Hawk

  1. Keep the pictures coming! I love getting these emails. I’m learning to more easily identify birds through your posts, and its helpful to follow someone who lives in the same state you happen to bird in! Thanks, Brittny M. (Lubbock, Tx)

    Date: Thu, 17 Jan 2013 23:32:18 +0000 To: brmetal789@hotmail.com

  2. Great shots, Bob! Especially love the Red-Tailed in flight. I have never seen a Swainson’s, now I’ll know what one looks like. Another ID tip for the Red-Tailed if the tail is out of view is the “belly band.” The Swainson’s on the nest is priceless.

  3. Great hawk shots, Bob! Raptors are also my favorites also. And, by the way, kudos on your Fine Art Gallery. It is a nice showcase of your best work.

  4. The first Red-tailed Hawk has a sharp eye on you! I also am mesmerized by the in flight photo and the Swainson providing shade for her baby is a wonderful capture. As always, you do amazing work and thanks for posting.

  5. I agree with the other commenters, the Red-tailed Hawk in flight is amazing. Love your new gallery too, Bob – glad to see you’re including some of your wonderful landscapes too.

Leave a Reply

