Images from a beautiful day……


We have had some very beautiful weather the past few days.  It is a very nice respite from the cold days that we had previously.  Ann and I got out to do a little birding, and I got some new photographs.  That was a bonus, as I hate to come home from birding empty-handed.

First up, I got very lucky getting this photo of a Ruby-crowned Kinglet.  It was in some thick brush along a fence at Spring Creek Park here in San Angelo.  We were in the car and maneuvered close to the fence, about 15 feet away.  We saw the bird in there, flitting around, and eventually it exposed itself long enough that I was able to get a few images.  If you look close, you can see the tiny red crown, that is usually concealed.  I hand held my Canon EOS 7D with a 100-400mm lens for the shot.

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Along the way, we saw several Yellow-rumped Warblers on the ground and in the trees.  This is another tiny bird that moves quickly and is hard to photograph.

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Yellow-rumped Warbler

Another bird that we usually see on almost every visit to the lake parks, is the Great Egret.  This image was really under-exposed, so I decided to not correct it, but to just adjust the lighting of the egret itself.  It now appears like it is wading in moonlit waters.

Great Egret

Great Egret

We also saw this Ladder-backed Woodpecker working away in a mesquite tree.

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Lastly, how could I not show this image of one of my favorite subjects, the Vermilion Flycatcher.  The wind was up a bit, and he seemed to be enjoying the swaying of the small tree branch.  I also like that I was able to get a catch-light in the eye.

Vermilion Flycatcher

Vermilion Flycatcher

I hope that you enjoyed these photographs.  Click on any of them to see an enlargement.  To see more of my images, click on the “Fine Art” logo in the left side of this page.  There I have some galleries for you to browse.

34 thoughts on “Images from a beautiful day……

  1. These birds are really pretty. And you have captured them in a great way. I loved the second photo the most. The blue shades, light, and the textures… I’m in love with it… Hmmm. 🙂

  2. What a superb set of photos, Bob. I love the Vermilion Flycatcher, and the Kinglet is so cute! What a tiny ruby ‘crown’ – it makes you wonder why birds have such markings. The egret pic is very creative!

  3. Beautiful photographs, Bob! It’s so nice to see birds on their wintering grounds (from where I sit anyway). The Vermilion Flycatcher is gorgeous. And what a great angle to get the Ruby-Crowned Kinglet!

  4. The Red Bird catches my eye..nothing like the Vermillion Flycatcher..the other photos are awesome..be glad when spring arrives and brings back our birds..have a great day.

  5. Really enjoyed the shot of the Ruby-crowned Kinglet. I once saw one on our deck. I was watching from inside a sliding glass door as he lifted his crown. I assume it was an act of aggression because there were other birds on the deck. Just happened to be there at the right time…without my camera.

      • Bob, wonderful shots. I am finding it wonderful that after I go birding, I go online and find that you capture nearly the same birds as I have. From the Yellow-Rumped Warbler, to the Ruby-Crowned Kinglet, to the Vermillion Flycatcher, etc. The only one that I haven’t seen you get yet is the White-Crowned Sparrow. They seem to be here for the warmer weather too. I also wanted to mention that the Audubon’s Oriole was back today and he brought his mate. Unbelieveable song…I listened to them for over two hours today. Keep up the great shots and good luck on your next outing. Talk to you again soon,
        Tharon

        • Thanks for the glowing comment, Tharon. I saw a couple of White-crowned Sparrows this morning, so they are starting to arrive. They’ll soon be here in large numbers. Hopefully, I can get some images that you will like.

  6. What a treat to see the Ruby-crowned Kinglet’s crown! Very nice photos – thanks for sharing them and glad you came away happy!

  7. Loved the photos! You must have sent the cold air in this direction, it was so cold today that my camera froze to the point where it no longer functioned. That’s only the second time that it has happened.

Leave a Reply

