The Menacing Curve-billed Thrasher


Going through old images again from the past year or more.  I decided to give some press time to this fierce looking bird.

Actually, the Curve-billed Thrasher isn’t really menacing.  But you wouldn’t believe it by looking into the adult’s eyes.  They are a bright reddish orange, and along with it’s curved bill, it looks downright mean.  Also, it’s call is a meek sounding tweet, not a growl.

I took this image of an adult nearly a year ago as it was hunkered down in some grass.

Curve-billed Thrasher - adult

Curve-billed Thrasher – adult

Last September I came across this juvenile, pictured below.  At first I thought that it may have been a Sage Thrasher.  Since it was photographed here in San Angelo, a ‘sage’ would been away from it’s usual area which is farther west.  But after looking at it closely, I found that it was indeed a juvenile Curve-billed.  Notice the paler, or yellow eyes that was one of the deciding marks of a younger bird.

Curve-billed Thrasher - juvenile

Curve-billed Thrasher – juvenile

Curve-billed Thrasher - juvenile

Curve-billed Thrasher – juvenile

Thanks for visiting my blog again.  Click on any image to see some enlargements.

21 thoughts on “The Menacing Curve-billed Thrasher

    • Thanks for the comment, Ron. I also have some images of a Sage Thrasher, which I will post another day. They are not a regular visit to the San Angelo area, but are found farther into west Texas.

    • That’s great, Dave. If you have the time during your visit, try to get to the Bosque Del Apache NWR south of Albuquerque down near Socorro. One of the best Wildlife Refuges around.

    • Thank you very much, Katie. I appreciate your input. Still, relative new as a birder, I tend to not explain as much as I should. I thank you for your additional details. I still need all the help that I can get. 🙂

  1. Excellent blog, with very good and nice photos.
    The thrusher is quite different I’ve seen from South America, it has an odd bill.
    Maybe could be useful add if it was possible scientific name to the species, is helpfull to people living in other continents like me
    Regrads
    Hernán

Leave a Reply

