Birding a record-breaking day.


The weather here has been great lately, as I have mentioned before.  Ann and I got out yesterday for a few hours, and birds, along with spring, were in the air.  Our birding exploits netted us 45 species, which broke our daily record of 44  set last year.  It was hard to believe for a January day.  But when the temps get to the mid 70s, even the birds are happy.

Photographically, it was somewhat of a bust.  Oh, I got photos, but I am, as a photographer, always looking for presentable, saleable images, i.e., photos that are good enough for my Fine Art Gallery, but none of those were to be had.  However, strictly for birding bragging images, here are a few that I captured.  Click on any of them to see an enlargement.

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Above, this Ladder-backed Woodpecker was enjoying himself.

Brown Creeper

Brown Creeper

As was this Brown Creeper.  It seems they love to work the underside of the branches.

Greater Yellowlegs

Greater Yellowlegs

This Greater Yellowlegs was feeding along the river’s edge.  Really hustling, and paying no mind to anything around him.

We also saw an American Goldfinch.  I was unable to get an image of it, as it was too quick for me.  However, I will show you one that I shot at an earlier date.  Below that is a photo of a Lesser Goldfinch, that I came across in my files during my search for the previous mentioned American.  I thought you’d be interested in the comparison.

American Goldfinch - female

American Goldfinch – female

Lesser Goldfinch - male

Lesser Goldfinch – male

For you birders that are interested in the birds that are found around this west Texas city, here is a complete list of what we saw.

  1. Northern Mockingbird
  2. Double-crested Cormorant
  3. Eastern Bluebird
  4. Western Meadowlark
  5. European Starling
  6. Oranged-crowned Warbler
  7. Killdeer
  8. Belted Kingfisher
  9. Pied-billed Grebe
  10. American Coot
  11. Northern Shoveler
  12. Bufflehead
  13. Vermilion Flycatcher
  14. House Finch
  15. Great Blue Heron
  16. Golden-fronted Woodpecker
  17. Yellow-rumped Warbler
  18. Black-crested Titmouse
  19. Black-bellied Whistling Duck
  20. Mute Swan
  21. Great Egret
  22. Mallard
  23. Red-tailed Hawk
  24. American Goldfinch
  25. Great Horned Owl
  26. Northern Cardinal
  27. American Robin
  28. White-crowned Sparrow
  29. Brown Creeper
  30. Ladder-backed Woodpecker
  31. Gadwall
  32. Green-winged Teal
  33. Yellow-bellied Sapsucker
  34. Eastern Phoebe
  35. Greater Yellowlegs
  36. Wilson’s Snipe
  37. Northern Flicker
  38. Bewick’s Wren
  39. Wild Turkey
  40. Ring-billed Gull
  41. Black Vulture
  42. Spotted Sandpiper
  43. White-winged Dove
  44. Great-tailed Grackle
  45. House Sparrow
38 thoughts on “Birding a record-breaking day.

  1. Niceday of birding, it’s a good record!; my record of one day of observation was curiously in winter with 80 species.
    I’ ve seen an image of greater yellowlegs, I´ve believed they migrated to South America in your winter, Is it common or unusual to see them in Texas at the cold season?

  2. WOWSA! Quite the list! Beats my winter Black Capped Chickadee, White-breasted Nuthatch, Downy Woodpecker and Red-Bellied Woodpecker. Oh, plus the Dark-eyed Juncos at my feeders daily. Also saw several owls, but they were in captivity, LOL. Great list, Bob!

  3. That sounds like an excellent day, Bob, and you got some great pics even if they’re not exactly to your standards! I love the woodpecker – such a lovely sheen on his head. Interesting comparison of the goldfinches – is the ‘lesser’ one smaller, hence its name?

    • Thanks for the comment, Jo. The ‘lesser’ is smaller, but only by a half inch. I don’t know how they come up with these names. For example, the ‘Greater Runner’. Greater than what? 🙂

  4. Whoo hoo! No, wait. Boo hoo. (I’ll never catch up if you keep doing that. LOL)

    At any rate, a great birding day should always be celebrated by a game of words, you know. Cheers!

  5. Fabulous selection of birds, Bob! I particularly like the Greater Yellowlegs, the Creeper and the woodpecker! I think I will show the birds around our area your photographs and put their brown, black and dowdy to shame!

    Cheers!

    John

  6. So many varieties in West Texas…who would have thought. I go to the beach of one of the most bio-diverse countries in the world and all there is is a mob of pelicans diving into the surf. That’s good entertainment though.
    Ta-Ta for now…

    • Thanks for commenting, Charlynn. Believe it or not, we get the American White Pelicans here. I love to see them when they show up in large flocks in the air. They look so majestic as they slowly fly in a vast circle and gradually settle on the water. Quite a sight for west Texas.

    • Thanks, Lisa. I appreciate your comment. 15 below?? Great weather?? If you say so, Lisa. 🙂 Kidding!! I used to live in Muskegon, Michigan so I do know that it can be nice when the weather is cold.

      That Lesser Goldfinch image is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

