Ruby-crowned Kinglet – a merry chase


Well, I won’t say that I actually chased it.  I don’t “chase” birds in the true sense of the word, as I don’t like to hassle them.  Perhaps, in this instance, the Ruby-crowned Kinglet (Regulus calendula), was actually harrassing me.  He sure was being evasive.  This was one time that I really felt I worked hard for the results that I got.

I had pulled my vehicle up close to some dense brush as I had seen movement in there.  With my binoculars I could see him flitting around and stopping for a second or two on different twigs.  At that point I was about 15 feet away from him.  After several exposures, mostly on manual focus, because the surrounding leave and twigs were making it difficult to use auto-focus, I decided to chance slowly getting out of the car and moving closer.

I moved ever so slowly and eventually I was on my knees on the ground and I was only about 7 feet away.  The end of my 100-400mm zoom lens was nearly touching the branches of the bush.  I took several shots, then backed away.  The kinglet gradually made it towards me, outside of the brush and near a wire fence.  Here are the photos in the order that I shot them.  These are just 4 out of about 60 exposures.  I hope you like them.

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

Ruby-crowned Kinglet

As you can see, I got lucky again, being able to catch the red patch that usually is nearly invisible.  The more I practice the luckier I get. Click on any image to see an enlargement.

35 thoughts on “Ruby-crowned Kinglet – a merry chase

  1. Bob, you have a way with Kinglets! I must say the Ruby-Crowned guys hardly ever reveal themselves when they stop by here during migration. Wonderful photos. Congratulations!

  2. Cute little bird and the first two photos make this kinglet appear to have a royal cape as well as a crown! You did good in the “chase” and won out! hugs

Leave a Reply

