Images from a perfect day…..


Saturday began as a beautiful day.  It’s hard to beat 70 degrees and almost no wind around here.  I decided to try to get some images of some more birds at Middle Concho Park.  We went back to that brushy area along the perimeter of the park.  I was rewarded with a Hermit Thrush (Catharus guttatus).  It was the first I had seen this year.  But they have been around all winter, so they have evaded me, or I just wasn’t looking in the right places.  They will probably be gone by mid-April.  It was flitting in and out of the brush, and stopped momentarily on the barbed wire.

Hermit Thrush

Hermit Thrush

Across the river, there were about 25 Black-bellied Whistling Ducks, (Dendrocygna autumnalis).  They were pretty spread out along the shore and in the water so I could only include these two in the frame.  At the distance, I used my Canon EOS 7d with 500mm lens and 1.4 tele-converter.  It is also heavily cropped.

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

Finally, this Northern Mockingbird, the state bird of Texas, appeared alongside of the car.  Couldn’t resist taking the shot.  Almost full frame.  My 100-400mm hand-held lens was perfect for this image.

Northern Mockingbird

Northern Mockingbird

Neither of these last two images would qualify as some of my best, as they are just a little more than grab shots.  But it was just great to get into the great outdoors.  Actually, we saw about 34 different species of birds, but as it happens most of the time ,they are on the move in the trees or making a fast flyby.  Just spotting a bird, does not equate to getting an image.

22 thoughts on “Images from a perfect day…..

  1. Great to see a Hermit Thrush this early in the year and I love Mockingbirds any time. Black-Bellied Whistling Ducks are a rarity up here – lucky you! We had beautiful weather here too on Sunday. But now the snow is coming, the snow is coming…

  2. I envy you your “beautiful day”, Bob. We’ve had very few of them for a good long time around here. I especially like the thrush photo – a species I’ve never seen. Sure glad that you’ve recovered and are out among the birds again.

  3. Great way to celebrate your recovery by getting out and being rewarded with some shots. Trust you are getting better by the day. I am enjoying the harbingers of spring, both the birds and my southern blogger friends. 🙂

  4. I would say that the shot of the whistling ducks was great! Please send some of that warm spring air this way! My fingers got so cold today that I couldn’t even feel when I was switching the camera on and off. But with 30+ eagles flying around, I gutted it out.

  5. The Hermit Thrush is a nice looking bird and I like the photo very much. You are the man!! Thanks for posting these great photos. hugs

  6. After listening to that Studio 360 piece (where the thrush is singing to the guitar player at the end), I promptly listened to every thrush song on iBird Pro. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen or heard one down here, but I will be listening for them from now on!

    Love our spritely mockingbirds. Couldn’t imagine a more suited bird for us o’nery Texans. Pretty shots!

    • I have to give you credit, Shannon, if you can memorize all of the thrush calls, you’ll be doing better than me. You’re right about the Mockingbirds, though. Many thanks for the compliments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

