Images from Pedernales Falls State Park


As I promised, here are several more bird images that I got at the blinds at Pedernales Falls State Park.  I believe that spring has sprung, given that the weather was great and the birds colorful.  I won’t bother with any senseless text here, but just let you enjoy the photographs.  But be sure to click on the images themselves, to see some beautiful enlargements.

Carolina Wren

Carolina Wren

Lesser Goldfinch - male

Lesser Goldfinch – male

Lincoln's Sparrow

Lincoln’s Sparrow

Black-chinned Hummingbird

Black-chinned Hummingbird

Ladder-backed Woodpecker - female

Ladder-backed Woodpecker – female

Lesser Goldfinch - female

Lesser Goldfinch – female

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Ladder-backed Woodpecker

Many thanks to all that enjoy my work and offer comments.  I really appreciate the notes and compliments.  To see more of my work, click the Fine Art and the Flickr logos on the right side of this page.

20 thoughts on “Images from Pedernales Falls State Park

  1. Such a nice variety! You did good AND I know you enjoy your time both in the field and in the process of the final photo. Thanks for sharing and happy hunting. hugs

  2. Excellent photos as always. I had never heard of a lesser goldfinch until last night when I was trying to ID a bird that I saw, and you go and post photos of them today. How did you pull that one off?

  3. I have a whole new respect for birding photography. Snapping still pictures of small flitting, unwilling subjects — with a zoom no less — is HARD. That Lesser Goldfinch is striking, isn’t he?

    Believe it or not, I actually got a couple of decent shots, which I’ll include on my next post. The male Dark-eyed Junco was my fav, but not my clearest shot. I’ll not include him because I’m picky that way.

    • Thank you so much, Shannon, for that glowing comment. I am glad that you appreciate what I go through to get these shots. Would you believe 860 images to get maybe a couple dozen keepers? But I am not complaining, just being outdoors, and being able to even make these attempts is all I want to do. I love the Dark-eyed Juncos, and I really would love to see it.

    • Thanks, Zac. The majority of these shots, I used a Canon EOS 7D with 500mm lens with 1.4 teleconverter, tripod mounted with a Gimbel head. Some images were hand-held with a 100-400mm lens. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

