Ten Minutes at K-Mart Creek


It didn’t take long.  We had been observing a Yellow-crowned Night Heron near our local K-mart Creek, so named of the little drainage creek that usually flows by an empty K-mart building.  I, like Lisa Rest up in Chicago, Illinois, always have my camera with me.  Check her blog to see her amazing shots from the Windy City.

We hadn’t had time to stop on the previous sightings, so we decided to make a special trip, specifically to see if we could spot that bird.  We saw it immediately as we drove on to the parking lot.  I managed to get the two pictures that are below, then as we were about to leave, Ann spotted a Green Heron in an honey mesquite tree by the water.  It was obscured partly by foliage, but I have always maintained that if you can see enough of the eyes, get them in sharp focus, you can get a nice picture.

I hope you enjoy all of the photos.  Click on any of them to see an enlargement.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Green Heron in tree

Green Heron in tree

20 thoughts on “Ten Minutes at K-Mart Creek

  1. Superb shots, Bob. I always love your heron photos. Do you have any idea why Night Herons are so called? It can’t be because they only come out at night!

    • Thanks a bunch, Jo. I have no idea how the night herons got called that. We have the Yellow-crowned and the Black-crowned, and like you, I know that they are seen very much during the day. If I can find out, I’ll let you know.

  2. Hi Bob . . . Great photos as always. My wife and I have been anticipating the return of a pair of doves we entertain every Spring but so far, no sign of them. We’re beginning to fear the worse. It has always meant the official beginning of Spring for us.

  3. It’s been too long since I’ve been by. Life has sent me off in some decidedly non-artistic directions (business stuff) so blogging and enjoying blogs has taken a back seat, temporarily, I hope. It’s lovely to see your photos and think of you out every day enjoying nature. I’m curious – is K-Mart Creek a local or official name. I hope it’s colloquial because if it’s official, it really says a lot about our collective disconnect from nature, don’t you think?

    • Thanks for your kind words, Cindy. Actually, K-Mart Creek is my very unofficial name for it. It runs adjacent an old closed K-mart store and has a lot of birds around and in it.

  4. Come back to Michigan, Bob, I’ll show you some great places to see loons! 🙂 Our favorite little fishing hole in the northwoods, we always see a pair there. When I get bored with fishing, I just sit and take photos of them! Also, there are a pair of king birds that nest in this gnarled trunk sticking out of the water. These heron shots are gorgeous! And I can feel the warmth of the sun!

  5. Ah…the elusive green heron. I can’t believe you got such a fantastic shot! That yellow-crown looks as if he’s too intent upon a crustacean lunch to care about you. Nice shots, Bob. As usual!

  6. Great photos..I love the Green Heron. We cruised out to Echo Lake and saw a variety of ducks, lots of American Grebes, Canvas Back, Mergansers, and my first Loon. They were so far out on the Lake my little cannon would not do well. but enjoyed through the binoculars. We had a day of sunshine, cool temps, but no wind..yeah!! maybe we will get spring yet.. Take care and thanks for your beautiful photos..love every one of them.

Leave a Reply

