Little Blue Heron – a lifer


First of all, as I like to do occasionally, is  to bring attention to other nature artists that impress me.  Lyndi Simms is one of those and her work is stunning.  Check out her work by clicking HERE.

Okay, when Ann and I were out hooting for the owls last week we had another experience.  Glancing towards the river, we saw a flash of blue out of the corner of our eyes.  We looked to see what had distracted us, thinking maybe we were spotting a Great Blue Heron.  But what a surprise, when we discovered that it was actually a Little Blue Heron (Egretta caerulea), a smaller relative.  They are in fact about 18 inches smaller than the Great Blue.  They are permanent residents to the gulf coast, but summer throughout the southern states.  They are very rare to this west Texas area where I live, and this is the first one I have ever seen.  Number 254 to my life list.  Click on either image to see an enlargement.

Little Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

One more bird that I don’t want to forget to mention is this Bronzed Cowbird, (Molothrus aeneus).  They summer mostly to the southwest of San Angelo, but a few do make it into the area.  Difficult to photograph because of the black, glossy feathers, but if successful,  the bluish feathers really pop.  This one I got lucky with when it was hopping in the grass nearby.  Ya gotta love that red eye, too.

Bronzed Cowbird

Bronzed Cowbird

Here is a reminder to my new and older readers.  If you will click on “sign me up”, in the upper right of this page, below all of my copyright fine print, you will receive an e-mail whenever I publish a new post.  That way you will never miss any of my narratives or nonsense.  🙂

9 thoughts on “Little Blue Heron – a lifer

  1. Wow, a lifer for you, Bob! Great news, and the egret is beautiful – I love the combination of purple and indigo. As for the cowbird, that is one very angry looking individual. Beautiful, though! It does make you wonder why some birds have such vivid coloured eyes. I had a look at Lyndi’s site – I love her orchid pictures especially.

  2. The colors in the little blue are unbelievable..this would be a real challenge to paint.,,purple diaxazine and a fun time with the other colors. This is one beauty. The Bronze Cow Bird is a great photo..you captured the colors perfectly..Kudos..again..

    • Thanks, Lisa. This one was a couple hundred yards away. I used my long lens set-up and cropped it to get this close shot that you see. I love the blue colors, and the way it has a reddish tint closer to the head.

Leave a Reply

