More Recent Random Images


Sorry to say that nothing exciting has happened the past few days, but we are getting settled in after our Big Bend trip.  I have been busy editing some of those pictures and trying to keep up with other blogs that I follow.

One of my many favorite blogs is Jo Woolf’s Journal.  She lives in Scotland with her husband, Colin, and they have been showing the great landscapes from Skye.  The mountains and cliffs along the ocean remind me of the landscape of the Big Bend here in west Texas.  The only difference is that the cliffs at Skye are along the ocean, whereas as here they are surrounded by desert.  Also, Colin is a fantastic water-color artist.  Click here to see his stunning wildlife art.

Mountains in the Mist

Mountains in the Mist – Big Bend National Park

While editing some of my Big Bend trip photos I came across a couple more images hopefully for your enjoyment.  How about another shot of the Scaled Quail.

Scaled Quail - hiding in plain sight.

Scaled Quail – hiding in plain sight.

These Curve-billed Thrashers are always fun to photograph, too.  I love their fierce expressions.

Curve-billed Thrasher  on wire fence.

Curve-billed Thrasher on wire fence.

I have been keeping up with the Great Blue Heron nest downtown along our Concho River.  The kids are growing up.  If you remember, a couple of weeks ago I published a photo of the nest, and you could only see the head of one of the chicks above the nest.  Here what they looked like yesterday.

Great Blue Heron with chicks

Great Blue Heron with chicks

We took a short drive to Middle Concho Park and came away with this shot of a Bullock’s Oriole.  They are quite plentiful around here now, but very elusive when trying to photograph them.

Bullock's Oriole on mesquite limb.

Bullock’s Oriole on mesquite limb.

I hope you enjoyed my photography again.  Click on any of the images to see an enlargement.

25 thoughts on “More Recent Random Images

  1. Beautiful photos, as always, Bob – but these are an extra-special selection. The Curve-Billed Thrasher looks like a painting. Making up for “nothing too exciting” indeed! 🙂

    • Thanks a bunch, Lisa, for both of your wonderful comments. I noticed that the Anonymous one was from you also. I am thrilled that I “blew you away”. That in itself is quite a compliment. I really appreciate you. 🙂

  2. Hi Bob, that’s a lovely comment and we both thank you very much! It’s so nice to know my blog and Colin’s work are appreciated so far afield! It’s also lovely to be able to share experiences like our trip to Skye with people who love nature and the landscape. And talking of which, some excellent photos again – what spectacular mountains! And the Bullock’s Oriole is just eye-popping! However I think Scaled Quails have got to be among my favourite birds – I just love the plumage and their soft expression.

    • Hi Jo, so nice to hear your comment. I am so glad that you liked what I had to say about your blog. I appreciate your comments on my photos, too. By the way, I sometimes don’t comment on your blog, but rest assured I do read each and every one. 🙂

  3. all the photos are beautiful..the Mountains in the mist is filled with mystery..maybe of “hidden treasure maybe?”, Perfect caption for the Quayle…He appears to think you most assuredly can’t see Me?? The Curved billed Thrasher is a fabulous photo with painterly characteristics. Kudos on this one and the Bullock Oriole is marvelous..the tree limb and branch are a perfect frame for this liitle guy. And all but least “The Kids are growing”..what a great photo. Have a good day..

    • I like your comment about my “Mountains in the Mist”. It was taken during a very, very wet day in the Chisos Mountains of the Big Bend National Park about a year ago. I was surrounded by those wet, misty clouds, and I have no idea which mountain that is. As for the Quail, I love to capture the birds in the wild, even if they are partly hidden. You have a great day, too, Syl.

Leave a Reply

