There’s a new toy in town…..


I got a new toy for my camera bag.  It is a Cam Ranger.  A great tool for remote wildlife photography, being able to use it with new modern devices.

For example, if you would like to set up your camera to get close-ups of a bird nest you can get great results.  With the setup which consists of a small transmitter that attaches to your camera, you can put it on a tripod near the nest, go to another location up to 150 feet away, and control all camera functions including focus, aperture, shutter, movies,etc. by using your iPad, iPhone, or iPod.  There is no chance of spooking the birds this way.

You have to download the FREE Cam Ranger app from Apple’s iTunes App Store.  It provides an ad hoc network between the camera and your device so there is no need for a regular wi-fi connection.  You can use it anywhere.

House Finch - photographed remotely using a Cam Ranger.

House Finch – photographed remotely using a Cam Ranger.

I set my tripod, with my Canon EOS 7d and 100-400 lens inside the patio door.  I aimed it at a hanging bird feeder.  I took my iPad to my office at the other end of the house.  After opening the app and establishing the connection, I sat and watched the live view of the feeder.  I set the aperture and shutter speed and focused through the app, and when this House Finch landed, I snapped the photo.

To control the depth of field, I used f11 in aperture priority.  The shutter speed was 1/320 at 3200 ISO.

I am really excited about the possible applications for this tool.  Unfortunately, right now it is only available for Canon and Nikon DSLRs.  I bought mine from B&H Photo.

Click on that photo to see an enlargement.

13 thoughts on “There’s a new toy in town…..

    • I can see where it could be useful to you, Dave, when you are trying to get down to get a closeup of a flower. It is like having a giant viewfinder on your lap, and you don’t have to get your nose in the dirt.

  1. Oh, I love new toys!! Way to go Bob! Already looked it up on B&H and Dwynn is right about the “lust after” part! Enjoy and impress us all with marvelous applications. Can’t wait to see what you do with this new toy! hugs

  2. Now you did it, Bob! Another piece of camera gear to lust after. Especially since Santa gave Dear Wife an iPhone last Christmas. Seriously, thanks for the info, and I look forward to reading more about your adventures with the Cam Ranger.

  3. How great is that…you will be able to get some fabulous photos..I am impressed..Happy for you..enjoy and will be looking forward to bird photos that are from a different perspective..

    • Hi Lisa. Actually I envision using it for macro-photography, when focusing is sensitive and I don’t want to risk moving the camera. Or setting the camera up mere inches from a nest, using a short lens, etc. For that a person could get some neat photos or even movies of young chicks as they grow.

Leave a Reply

