They’re Titmouses, not Titmice


Catchy title to get your attention.  I was sitting here trying to decide what to post about.  I have been idle, just goofing off for the past week or so.  Time to write, but what to write about.  Time for the old “throw the dart trick”.  I threw the dart, it bounced off the wall and fell to the floor.  So much for that deal. So I flipped a coin, and it came up Titmouse.  Don’t ask…..

I haven’t written about Titmouses, not Titmice, in quite some time, maybe never.  I don’t recollect.  Anyway here in the west we have the Black-crested Titmouse, and in the east they have the Tufted Titmouse.  Same bird except the difference in the tufted little crown.  It’s grey in the east, by the way.  The dividing line is somewhere around the center of Texas, and you’ll see each of them around there.  To be truthful, they don’t go any farther west.  Hmmm..

I dug through the old archives;  actually old files, but I like to call them archives.  It sounds more impressive, don’t ya think?  You would think from that, they are carefully stored for generations to come.  Not.  I actually just file them away in my image file, where they may or may not get lost, depending on how careful I am with tagging them.

In those archives, I found these images that you might enjoy.

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse being hassled by a Black-throated Hummingbird.

Black-crested Titmouse being hassled by a Black-chinned Hummingbird.

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

Black-throated Titmouse

Black-crested Titmouse

And there you have it.  My best collection of Titmouses.  I need to get out more.  I need to sharpen that dart, too.

Click on any image to see an enlargement.

27 thoughts on “They’re Titmouses, not Titmice

  1. I am probably guilty of calling them titmice too, if not titmeeses. Beautiful shots! I have never seen a Black-Crested Titmouse – what a fine bird. The Black-Chinned Hummingbird is new to me too. For me, any pictures I have moved off my hard drive to the external one becomes “archived,” even if it’s only a few months old…?

    • Lisa, I call them titmice, too, all the time. It is easier to say. The Black-chinned Hummingbird is pretty common here, but we do get a few Ruby-throateds. I think you are much more organized with your images, than I am. I know where everything is, but if other people could see me work, they would walk away scratching their heads. 🙂

  2. Seriously, titmouses? Who knew? Thanks for that bit of information – and the humor! 🙂 Loved that shot of the titmouse and the hummingbird! I’ve always called them titmice – we’ll see if I can correct myself from here on out! LOL They are one of my favs. So sweet.

  3. I must confess. I call them Titmice. It goes against my natural inclination for grammatical correctness to say Titmouses! Our Tufted Titmic…MOUSES entertain me regularly on the back porch feeder. They’re the ones who announce to everyone else that I filled up the feeder again. Unfortunately, my back porch is off limits these days. 😦

    About the hummingbird comment, I have believe they at least understand one another’s calls and warnings, even if they don’t speak the same language or dialect. I see one species respond to calls of another on a regular basis! And I’m not talking predator / prey.

    • Heck, I call them Titmice, too. I just wanted to have a fun, catchy title. :-). You know me.

      I love their sassiness, though. Thanks for your nice comment, Shannon, you know how much I love to hear from you. 😉

  4. Aww…I like this collection of photos of the titmouse. Notice I avoided the plural there! The one of the hummer and the ‘mouse makes me smile. I do enjoy watching them and am always surprised by how small they are. With the days being near hot when the sun comes up, the joy of getting out and stalking birds gets lost. Maybe darts is an acceptable fill in activity as you await more agreeable weather; or you can use the time to make your files into archives!! Glad to see a silly post and great photos. hugs

    • Thanks, Beth. Glad you enjoyed my silly post. I was just wanting to add some fun for a bit. Sometimes, if I can’t find a good subject to write about, my writing sometimes gets out of the box, so to speak. 🙂

  5. Lovely photos, Bob! You must have a treasure trove of ‘archives’! I love the pic with the hummingbird – incredible. We have nothing similar to these titmouses (doesn’t feel right typing that!) but we do have a crested tit which is a Scottish speciality – they like the pine forests in the Highlands, but I have never seen one yet.

  6. I love the titmouses..they are sassy fun, busy little guys…New Mexico has the Juniper Titmouse..they really look more like the Eastern specie. Have a great day birding..we have Western Grebes on our little pond..they are a delightful water bird…busy weekend with successful art show..headed for shower and that wonderful pillow..

Leave a Reply

