Were Having a Heat Wave…….


It has been so hot here lately, that the birds are even staying indoors.  They’re probably couch potatos, lounging there in front of the TV watching “Birders “R Us., or “How to Look Cute in Front of a Camera Lens”.  There are probably pictures of an Avian drinking Evian.  Cute play on words, eh??  Sheesh, how corny can I get?  I think the heat is effecting me. 🙂

So that is probably where they were when I went out to look for a few camera ops.  The temperature was showing 106 in the car.  Oh, what is a birder to do on days like this.  Well, I take the shots that I can, then move along.

Here are three photos that I managed to get yesterday.

Curve-billed Thrasher

Curve-billed Thrasher

baby Vermilion Flycatcher on nest.  Heat didn't bother it.

baby Vermilion Flycatcher on nest. Heat didn’t bother it.

The nest in the above photo was only about 5 or 6 inches across.  I had difficulty locating it with the camera lens.  I was using my 500mm lens and only the center focus point.  Along with spot metering I was able to get the image.

Northern Bobwhite

Northern Bobwhite

Better days are coming.  “Owl be baaaack” later with more photos.

Click on any image to see enlargements.

32 thoughts on “Were Having a Heat Wave…….

  1. 106…you can have it! Keep that heat bubble up there in central Texas where it belongs, okay? That with our high humidity near the coast would be a lethal combo.

    Nice to know the birds are adapting nicely to global warming trends. They’ve probably got designs on what used to be some of their favorite spots that we humans have taken over for ourselfves. Probably just watching and waiting for the heat to finish us off once and for all!

  2. Sorry you are having a heat wave..we now have a 90,000 acre fire burning with no containment in my backyard..about 15 miles away as the crow flies. I feel so bad for all the birds and critters that were in our beautiful wooded hills. the photos are fabulous..the bill on the Curved Bill Thrasher is unreal…love them all….stay cool…

  3. I just do not know what to say about your puns…..how about, “They were a hoot!” followed by a groan. The photos were very nice and seeing that baby was a treat. I know you did have trouble finding it in the view finder. You may have to work some more on your archives as you await cooler weather. hugs

  4. That sounds very hot, Bob! And it seems only a while since you were saying what a cold spring it was. I’m wondering if we’ll get the same weather in a couple of weeks. Love the bobwhite photo – gorgeous plumage! (Birders R Us, really! :D)

    • That really has happened before. A lost migrant Snowy Plover laid an egg on a hot parking lot. I put large stones near it to mark it, and prevent it from moving automobiles. Alas, the plover deserted it when it got too hot and baked.

  5. Fantastic shots, Bob. Sorry you are stuck in all that heat, I heard about it on the radio this morning. Be careful! At least it’s dry and not humid (that’s what we Midwesterners like to say)…

  6. VERY GOOD SHOOTS. I HAVE NEVER SEEN THOSE BIRDS, PROBABLY THEY LIVE ONLY IN YOUR COUNTRY NOT IN MINE.I LOVE WATCHING BIRDS AND ANIMALS IN THEIR NATURE, I TOOK SOME PHOTOS OF WILD DUCKS CALLING “CYRANKA”.THIS YEAR, THERE ARE MORE ONES ON THE RIVER IN MY TOW.WHEN I INSERT SOME PHOTOS OF THEM ON MY PAGE YOU WILL BE ABLE TO SEE THEM TOO.GREET

  7. Send some sun my way, Bob. All we’ve been having lately is rain…pouring rain!
    Looks like that Curve-billed Thrasher is wondering what you’re doing out in that heat! Great photos!

Leave a Reply

