A Few Fourth of July Images


The Fourth of July holiday dawned cool with a high overcast.  Feeling lazy, I had a great Scrabble game going on with a dear friend in Houston when my iPad’s battery went down.   Alas!  What was I to do with no iPad or no Scrabble?  Well, I forgot my laziness and grabbed my cameras, after putting my iPad on the charger.  With the high overcast, the light was perfect with the sun’s light diffused and no harsh shadows.

This time of year, between the spring and fall migrations, the birding aspects aren’t too great.  I guess they call this the dog-days of summer.  Anyway, the temperature started warming, so we went to the bird blind at the San Angelo State Park.  There the water was trickling into the pond and there were a few birds around.  We sat on the bench and opened the large windows for easier viewing and photography.  Here are three images that I captured there.  Click on any of them to see enlargements.

Northern Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

House Finch

House Finch

Curve-billed Thrasher

Curve-billed Thrasher

After leaving the bird blind, we took a quick drive around to see what else may be hanging around.  I caught this Greater Roadrunner in a tree.

Greater Roadrunner

Greater Roadrunner

Then who can refuse this bird that only a mother could love.  There is a certain beauty to the Turkey Vulture.  It’s not his fault that he appears to be, well, er, ugly.

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture

25 thoughts on “A Few Fourth of July Images

  1. Love the photos, Bob – you did well in spite of the lack of birds. The house finch is cute! Can’t quite bring myself to say the same of the Turkey Vulture, although I’m sure, as you say, that his parents thought he was a fine lad. We are in the midst of a heatwave here, at long last – temperature already up to 62F at 7.30 am this morning and they are promising it will last at least a week. I quite like a game of Scrabble myself, one of the only games where I stand any chance at all! 🙂

  2. Great photos Bob…and I also like the Turkey Vulture. We have quite a few of them around here…in fact you can look just about anywhere in the sky and see several. I love to watch them soar and occasionally we will see some perched in a tree or on a fence post. They are really big birds…guess they eat pretty well around all the farmland here!

  3. I have great respect for the Turkey Vulture, one for the job they are task to do and secondly for their awesome ability to fly like the wind or in spite of it. I have seen them fly in wind gust above twenty to thirty miles an hour.
    Great captures Bob!

  4. All hail the turkey vulture! We would certainly miss his ugly face; but who else to do the nasty, thankless job of nature’s (human’s?) cleanup? That cardinal gets all the pretty credit yet he does nothing but serenade. Nice shots all, Bob, but I vote for the all-American Texas “buzzard.”

    Now. Let’s get that Scrabble on, shall we? And Happy belated Fourth!

    • Thanks for all of the kind words, Shannon. You know that I appreciate them. Now about the Scrabble, it’s your play. 🙂

    • That’s a great compliment, Lisa. I have never heard anyone down here say that a Turkey Vulture looked good. Seriously, I know what you mean, and I apreciate your kind words. 🙂

    • Yes, I agree, Jim, it is the only time it is reasonable to work in. By the way, it is barely kept up nowadays. Grass and weeds 18 inches high, algae in the pond, and I heard that they only put feed out once per week. Not good.

      • Disappointing. It takes a significant time investment (as you know) to keep that thing running and a sizable monetary investment to buy the seed. Sad that FoSASP has not found the right person to carry that torch.

  5. you are amazing..no birds..and guess what you come up with some great photos..love them all..the road runner is great…have a super week end..I am doing an art show…yeah!!!

  6. love the road runner, that turkey vulture (I see them around here all the time my dog loves to bark at them when they fly really low) seems to be saying “hey buddy, what you looking at, havent you ever seen an ugly face before.”?

Leave a Reply

