Pictures from new Canon 70D


I have been trying out my new Canon EOS 70D.  I just took it out of the box the day before yesterday.  I have been eagerly going over the changes and improvements.

It has some noticeably improvements over my 7D.  Larger LED screen, 20MP, faster, I think, auto focus.  Also Wi-fi capabilities if I can get it hooked up.  Let’s see, also touch-screen is an option.  I think the menu is easier to navigate.  It uses that tiny memory card instead of the larger compact flash card.  That might be hard to get used to.  After I use it more, I can give a better appraisal.

Here are a couple of images that I took the past couple of days.  This first is a Common Blackhawk, or Zone-tailed Hawk.  It is hard to tell which it is.  Opinions on that are welcome.  Anyway, I used Shutter Priority, and auto everything else and the exposure was nailed, since it is usually difficult to get good images of solid black birds.  Photographed at Spring Creek Park in San Angelo, Texas.

Common Blackhawk or Zone-tailed Hawk

Common Blackhawk or Zone-tailed Hawk

The Golden-fronted Woodpecker pictured below, also on Shutter Priority, was shot at San Angelo State Park this morning.  The lighting there is usually not very great, but the camera done a pretty good job.

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Golden-fronted Woodpecker

Along with the 70D, I was using a Canon 100-400mm lens. Click on either photo to see an enlargement.

24 thoughts on “Pictures from new Canon 70D

  1. hi Bob, first off i love the photos! i think you have the same setup as what I’m wanting to get (70D and 100-400 lens) would you recommend this camera over a 7D for a first dslr? I’ve been shooting wildlife mainly birds for about a year with a super zoom camera 12x (18-230mm equivalent) and I’m wanting more.. as always! also do you think ill need a flash?

    thanks, and great photos.

    • Hi Brodie,
      Most definitely I would recommend the 70D. As a matter of fact, I owned two 7Ds, I sold one to get the 70D, and I think I like as much, maybe more than the 7D. Because it has a bunch of features the 7D doesn’t have. You’ll love it. The 70D and the 100-400mm lens make a great combination. Check out my recent post about the Osprey. Those pics were taken with that combination. As for flash, it doesn’t hurt to own one, however I seldom use one. Stay in touch and let me know how you do.

      • Thanks ill definatly check out the osprey photos! One last question though, because ill have a heavy lens and ill be hand holding most of the time, do i need one of those black rapid straps that go in the lens tripod collar?
        Thqnka for you help

  2. Congrats on your new equipment! I’m a bit surprised to hear you’re shooting on shutter priority. I used to but about a year ago I got stuck on aperture priority and I swear I’d have to learn everything all over again to go back. One of these days I’ll figure out what I’m doing. Anyway, these are very nice shots of two birds I have rarely seen.

    • I shoot Aperture Priority about 80% of the time. But there are times, depending on lighting, my mood, etc., that I want to be sure that I have a fast shutter speed for the birds. I set it at 1/2500 sec for these. With aperture priority there are no guarantees of a fast shutter speed, although when wide open the odds are in your favor. 🙂

      • True but I’m in low-light conditions too often and that’s where I get screwed up going back and forth. I think you have more light in Texas. Ooh, I think I hear thunder as I’m typing this. If I’m ever in your neighborhood I may ask for a private lesson.

        • In low light conditions, a person can alway bump up the ISO, but as you can agree, you don’t have time to make changes. I find that in a situation like that, I go to Shutter Priority, and pray that the camera does the adjustments for me.
          Also sometimes, I boost the EV adjustment plus half to a full stop or thereabouts. By doing that you could have got a great exposure of that last image of yours, of the underside of the Osprey. But again, you have to have time to make the quick decisions.
          Yes, it would be nice to give you a lesson. I enjoy talking and doing photography one on one with another individual. “Come on down”!!

  3. I’ve been reading about the 70D. I assume you’re staying with a camera that has an APS-C sensor in order to get the 1.6X magnification that brings everything, and especially birds, closer. (A camera with a smaller sensor is also cheaper.) I’ll be interested to see how you like the 70D as you use it more.

  4. Excellent pics, Bob – looks like you’re having fun with your new toy already! The woodpecker pic is beautiful, especially if the lighting wasn’t that good. Colin and I have just traded in our old cameras for new gear. I’ve got a Nikon D3200 which is so light – I was expecting it to weigh a ton, but it’s really lovely. Need to go somewhere and try it out now!

  5. I will be interested in reading more about your new 70D, looks good so far!

    I picked up a 60D this spring, and I love it. Amazing photo quality when compared to my old Nikon. I would also like a second body, and almost jumped at a 70D when they were announced, but now, I’m not so sure. I may hold out and save for a 7D to get the metal body with weather sealing.

    • I am selling one of my 7Ds. The 70D is a fine replacement. 20Mp instead of 18. For movies, much better focus tracking. Touch screen, WiFi, builtin HDR. Lot of nice new features the 7D doesn’t have. Thanks for your comment, Jerry, nice to hear from you. 🙂

  6. Those are very nice shots, Bob, especially since you have had the camera in your hands for only a couple of days. It takes me longer than that to learn how to turn a new camera on and off. 🙂 Looking forward to reading more of your evaluations, especially with the 100-400mm lens. And the 70D’s AF is noticeably faster than the 7D’s? That is very good to hear.

Leave a Reply

