Eastern Bluebird – Canon 70D test


I went out this morning to do a bit of birding and of course, some bird photography.  The bird action is picking up with the fall migration beginning.  But nothing to do with the migration, was when I spotted this Easter Bluebird perched in a tree.  It turned out to be a good test for my new Canon EOS 70D.  I took several exposures in the somewhat difficult light.  The bird was backlit from the right and was in heavy shade for the most part.  I was shooting with a Canon 100-400mm lens.   Here are before and after images.  The first was the original, untouched image straight from the camera.  The second is cropped with minor light, color, and sharpening adjustments.  With the large 20MP file, I found that I could crop tight and lose very little quality.

Original

Original

Cropped and retouched

Cropped and retouched

I would say that I am going to be very happy with my new investment.  Click on either image to see an enlargement.

25 thoughts on “Eastern Bluebird – Canon 70D test

  1. Great before-and-after pair of images, Bob. Makes the 70D ( and you 🙂 ) look good. What are your feelings about the AF speed and the viewfinder compared to the 7D?

    • Thanks so much, Dwynn. The viewfinder is about the same as the 7D. The AF speed seems a bit quicker. Also, there seems to be less noise at the higher ISOs. I really haven’t did a good study of that though. However, this image at 800 ISO looks completely clean of any. The camera feels good in my hands.

  2. I love this shot, Bob, and I can imagine that the lighting conditions were quite difficult. The colouring and plumage detail are perfect. I bet you’re having fun with this – I know how it feels now! 🙂

    • Thanks, Jo. The lighting really wasn’t as bad as I said. I just like to complain. After all, I can’t make it look too easy, can I? 🙂 I love your kind words, though.
      Now I am anxious to see what you can come up with your new camera. So far I like what I see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

