New photos of the Big Bend


Ann and I arrived home Friday afternoon after a very enjoyable to our favorite area, the Big Bend country of Texas.  We saw 55 species of birds, including a new lifer, the Crissal Thrasher.  We also took a break from birding, and took a raft trip on the Rio Grande which I will talk about in a future post.  Here are some of the bird images I manage to get.

Red-tailed Hawk - enjoying an early morning sunrise.

Peregrine Falcon – enjoying an early morning sunrise, Big Bend National Park.

Wilson's Warbler Trying to hide in the brush at Cottonwood Campground.

Wilson’s Warbler
Trying to hide in the brush at Cottonwood Campground, Big Bend National Park.

Vermilion Flycatcher - at Cottonwood Campground in Big Bend National Park

Vermilion Flycatcher – at Cottonwood Campground in Big Bend National Park.

Greater Roadrunner - on fence post near Marathon, Texas.

Greater Roadrunner – on fence post near Marathon, Texas.

Loggerhead Shrike - on ocotillo plant, Big Bend National Park.

Loggerhead Shrike – on ocotillo plant, Big Bend National Park.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird - female- at Far Flung Outdoor Center, Study Butte, Texas.

Ruby-throated Hummingbird – female- at Far Flung Outdoor Center, Study Butte, Texas.

Cactus Wren - at Far Flung Outdoor Center, Study Butte, Texas.

Cactus Wren – at Far Flung Outdoor Center, Study Butte, Texas.

Cactus Wren on Prickly Pear cactus, Far Flung Outdoor Center, Study Butte, Texas.

Cactus Wren on Prickly Pear cactus, Far Flung Outdoor Center, Study Butte, Texas.

I hope you enjoyed the photos as much as I enjoyed obtainng them.  Click on any image to see an enlargement.  More photos coming in future posts.

21 thoughts on “New photos of the Big Bend

  1. You know how I feel about BB Country. Looks like the birds were out for you this trip; so wish I could join you for one of those. One day soon.

    Cute cactus wren doing his thing; I even love his backward pose!

  2. Gorgeous photos, Bob – I especially love the sky in the Peregrine and the Hummingbird photos, you couldn’t ask for a more subtle or complementary colour. So beautiful. The raft trip sounds exciting! I look forward to hearing about that. Hope you held onto your lenses! 🙂

  3. Ah, big Bend! Very nice photos. I have not seen the Loggerhead Shrike before and I am looking forward to seeing it “in the feather” so to speak! Looking forward to the raft trip story. hugs

  4. Well, I’m not an expert birder, but the first photo doesn’t look like any red-tailed hawk I’ve ever seen. I think that it’s a falcon, of what species, I’m not sure. The black eyes and bright yellow feet tell me it’s not a hawk. Red-taileds have yellow eyes and pale yellow legs and feet. I also see a hint of a vertical stripe running through the eye area, a prairie falcon perhaps?

Leave a Reply

