Great Horned Owl in camo


When a I spotted that Great Horned Owl that I wrote about in my previoust post, I had taken several images from different positions.  Many of those poses were with tree leaves obscuring the details.  This image that I found is a side view and the leaves are mostly to the side.  However, the owl was blending into the colors and shadows of the tree itself.  Also with the back- light, it presented a post-processing challenge.  Here is the image that I chose for this post.  I didn’t mention it before, but I think that there is damage to the left eye.  I never did see it wide open, but he did seem half asleep part of the time.  Maybe he was just keeping one eye on me. 🙂

Great Horned Owl

Great Horned Owl

Click on the image to see an enlargement.

19 thoughts on “Great Horned Owl in camo

  1. I do believe he is giving you the one eyed look..great photo..and he really blends in with the surroundings..Kudos..we have about 2 inches of snow on the ground..yeah…love fhe first snowfall…

  2. What a magnificent bird! I’ve yet to see one in person. But it’s no wonder … It’s dressed in camo. And of course, you funny fella, your one-liner cracked me up!!! Ha,ha!!!

    • Hi Deb, I just replied to your e-mail. I didn’t realize that you had already seen this. (I went to buy a camo jacket, and couldn’t find one.) HaHa!
      Glad you liked it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

