Testing the Safari Flash Booster


I had read about the Rogue Safari Pop-up Flash Booster a few weeks and decided to order one, only 34.95 from B&H Photo.  It didn’t arrive until we returned from our Houston trip.  It is a neat little thing.  Weighs only 2 oz.  It clips to your hot-shoe, but is fashioned so it fits over the camera’s pop-up flash.  You clip it on and when you need it, simply push your pop-up flash button.  The flash pops up behind the Rogues fresnel lens.  It will give you about 8 times more light, giving you more range to around 70 feet or so.

I took it out with me yesterday to see if I could give it a test.  Here are the results.  We spotted this owl up in the branches of a tree, where it was pretty dark.  I am guessing the distance was about 75 feet, actually out of the advertised range.  I am giving you the before and after shots.  Straight out of the camera.  No adjustments.

Owl - before using the Safari Flash Booster.

Owl – before using the Safari Flash Booster.

Owl - after using Safari Flash booster.

Owl – after using Safari Flash booster.

As you can see, there is a quite noticeable difference even at that distance.  I previously had a Better Beamer, which I ended up not using much, because it involved assembling it onto my large Canon 550EX speed-lite, and I didn’t like the bother.  This little thing is a snap to use, and it takes only an instant to attach it to the camera.  For photos and more info, click on the link at the beginnng of this post or go to http://roguesafari.com.

19 thoughts on “Testing the Safari Flash Booster

  1. Hi Bob
    Looking to buy one ,would you use it with a105mm macro lens it should work well with a 18-270mm
    Lens.

    • I know what you mean, Lisa. I can never figure out flash exposures, so I just fly by the seat of my pants. I just turn the danged thing on and shoot and hope the camera does it’s job. 🙂

    • Hi Deb. Yeah, it is neat. You would love it. I do believe the exposure was still accurate. I don’t believe the booster messed if the metering at all. It works just like if you use a flash for fill. BTW, it is only best with a 100mm lens or longer. It would be too bright for say portraits. As you can see in my images, the owl was almost out of range of the booster, but provided enough light that I could brighten it to my own liking in PS without any trouble. Although it snaps onto the hotshoe, that is only for a support so the Fresnel is suspended over the camera’s pop-up flash.You would use it just like you would for a normal fill, except this thing projects the light further. BTW, I was using my 100-400mm lens.

  2. hi Bob. In my opinion, most of the samples are over-exposed in the ads , however to get the shot of a bird in a a dark area would be worth it plus a little tweaking in lightroom afterward might punch up the contrast and colour.Now I imagine the difference between this and a beamer is that a beamer ‘s light is steady, is that correct? What would the other differences be?A friend bought a diffuser which fits over her on-camera flash and gives a brighter result as it softens the shadows and costs less. I notice I adjusted my flash in-camera but when I aimed it at a nuthatch, the flash seemed to stun the bird (or maybe blinded it) because it froze on the spot and did not move for a couple of minutes.I guess there are a few issues here, cost, effectiveness, effect on the wildlife, reflection in the eyes,but a handy inexpensive tool as well.Any comments on the comparisons and effects?

    • I don’t know what you meant what you by steady. Does it stay on?? No! Neither does this booster. The differences? The Beamer is cumbersome, plus you have to fit it over your exteriour flash, making it heavier even. But the purpose of both is to project the flash further in distance. I have the diffuser that your friend has, and it is for softening the light for normal portrait and closeups. That is a completely different ball game. Nothing to do with the booster flashes. I have used the Beamer on many occasions and never witnessed any discomfort in the birds. But then again, I was far enough away.

    • Thanks for commenting, Alison. I used to use one of those Better Beamers occasionally, and this one uses the same principal. The duration of the flash is like a strobe, just maybe a milli-second. I have never seen it bother or spook any wildlife. If it did, I would never use it.

Leave a Reply

