More Great Blue Herons


Because of cold temperatures, I have been reluctant to do much birding.  Not a good thing for a guy that loves to photograph birds.  So I need to get off of my lazy butt and get out soon.  Maybe this afternoon.

In the meantime, I realized that I hadn’t posted anything lately, so this morning I dug into the archives.  I discovered that I have hundreds of Great Blue Heron photos.  Some I may have published in the past, and a few that I don’t think you have seen.  So just for funsies, here are a few for your enjoyment.  Click any image to see an enlargement.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron with catch of the day.

Great Blue Heron with catch of the day.

Great Blue Heron in flight.

Great Blue Heron in flight.

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron mating dance

Great Blue Heron
mating dance

Great Blue Heron pair

Great Blue Heron pair

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron with snake.

28 thoughts on “More Great Blue Herons

  1. Beautiful photos, we love seeing them, since we’ve tried to get photos of our local herons over the years, with limited and blurred success.

    My friend and I have been going out birdwatch on the Mississippi River the last three weeks.
    It’s been cold on and off, extremely cold the last few days (today’s high was around 23 and is expected to be lower tomorrow). Plenty of Bald Eagles to be seen, Canadian Geese, several pairs of Mallards, as well as a lone pelican hanging out with the Canadian Geese. Further in by the marshier areas were a large number of GB herons, the most I’ve ever seen, possibly around 17-20 adults. The most GB herons we typically see in the same area is 2-3, so it was a wonderful experience, even if the wind chill that blasted through us wasn’t fun!

  2. Love the GBH’s. I’ve only taken pictures of one in my creek, but the 2x converter just doesn’t get close enough for a good shot. I’m particularly enjoying the ones on my breakfast room walls!

  3. I clicked on every photo to see an enlarged view and enjoyed seeing the detail in the feathers and the poses -like how the head is framed by the branches in the sixth, I know how hard that can get. Great shots Bob, of their majesty and behaviours.

  4. Wonderful photos, Bob! I love the second one especially. I hope the weather warms up a bit for you soon. It is surprisingly mild over here and we are promised more wet and windy weather to come.

  5. One stays at a small pond where I work so I’ve been practicing with him when I can. He is certainly not tame but he seems to be fairly approachable. Even still, since I’m still so low on the curve, I don’t have a really good photo of him yet. And the same goes for all the pelicans temporarily living at the lake IN MY BACK YARD! A few minutes ago about 10 pelicans were 50 yds. out from my boat dock but it was raining.

  6. These birds are amazing..what a great round of photos..Herons always draw our attention..Hope it warms up for you..we have having temps above freezing the last two days..Yeah!!! Thanks so very much for sharing with all of us..

  7. These remarkable birds go from fluffy to smooth to majestic to dangerous with snakes! No wonder you love these guys!! Thanks for posting the many moods of the Great Blue Heron. warm hugs

Leave a Reply

