The Forgotten Dickcissel


When I got into birding about five years ago, I was told that I would be finding that there were many species that I had never heard of.   Well that certainly proved to be right, when we were birding with experienced birders and they mentioned the possibility of seeing a Dickcissel.  What??  What the heck is a Dickcissel??  A bird that Richard Cissel discovered???  No, it turned out to be another of the 854 species found in this country.  I don’t know how it got it’s name.  Maybe I’ll look into it.

Pair of Dickcissels.

Pair of Dickcissels.

Anyway it is a bird that is found in the rural areas in grasslands and shrubs.  About two years ago, we came across this pair while driving along a quiet highway.  They are about six and a half inches, and because of their coloring and quickness they don’t immediately catch your attention.  They have yellow breast with a black bib, but unfortunately in these photos it doesn’t show up.  And these are the only photos I have of them.

Dickcissel

Dickcissel

Dickcissel

Dickcissel

Enjoy the photos and click on any of them to see an enlargement.

Update:  In my quest to see 210 different species during 2014 I have added two more.

#42  Northern Pintail

#43  Blue Jay

I should add several more in the next few days.  Ann and I are leaving tomorrow morning, Jan. 9, to spend the weekend in the Big Bend country of west Texas.  Ann wanted to spend her 75th birthday on the 10th  there.  I won’t be doing another post until early next week.

10 thoughts on “The Forgotten Dickcissel

  1. Very nice photos, Bob, of a bird we have never seen. Y’all have a nice time down at Big Bend. Best wishes, Ann, for a happy 75th from Donnette and me.

  2. Oh I do love your humor!! However, that sounds about right to me. Again you have made me look at all those little brown birds in a different way. Happy day to you and especially to Ann as y’all celebrate her birthday. hugs

  3. I love the idea of Richard Cissel discovering these birds! 🙂 It could explain a lot of things! They do have quite pretty colouring, prettier than our sparrows anyway. Enjoy your holiday, Bob, and very many happy returns to Ann!

Leave a Reply

