No place like home……


After having a great time birding at South Llano State Park, we decided to stay home in San Angelo and see if we could have another sucessful day.  We did, counting 41 species and getting some nice photographs.  It was another gorgeous day weather-wise, windy early but beautiful later on.  Here are some highlights of that excursion.

Hooded Merganser - female

Hooded Merganser – female

Hooded Merganser - male

Hooded Merganser – male

These Hooded Mergansers were gliding along nearly side by side.  I was lucky to be able to get these close-ups, thanks to my Tamron 150-600mm lens.  All of the images in this post were taken with that particular lens, attached to my Canon EOS 70D.

Dark-eyed Jumco - slate-colored

Dark-eyed Jumco – slate-colored

The Junco was the first we had seen here in the past two years.  They are not present all the time.

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

I cute little sparrow with the distinctive white bars on the crown.

Wilson's Snipe

Wilson’s Snipe

The Wilson’s Snipe was all alone, just doing his thing, looking for food along the opposite bank of the river.

Carolina Wren

Carolina Wren

Another bird that I have been missing seeing is the Carolina Wren.  They pretty much stay hidden, like this one that is trying to stay out of sight.

American White Pelicans

American White Pelicans

I was able to practice getting birds in flight with this image of the two American White Pelicans.

After another sucessful day we headed home where I started to post-process all these, and more, images.  We added two more birds to our Big Year List.  The Dark-eyed Junco and the Carolina Wren.  Total is now 111.

Click on any image to see an enlargement.

27 thoughts on “No place like home……

  1. I will certainly put the word out…..surely your like new 500 comes with a little Bob Zeller majic left in it! Signed, waiting in Houston.

  2. Wow. Incredible photos, Bob. I agree with so many others, the female Merganser is just spectacular!! And just when I think I’m gaining on you and Shannon, you go and get a couple more species!! On I plod… 😉 (Long live the turtle!)

    • Thanks for the great compliment, Judy. I love that female Merganser, too. Shannon just called me and told me that she is at 111, also. Don’t worry, I know I will slow down a bit for awhile. I hope all three of us hit 200 by the end of the year.. Viva la Turtle. 🙂

  3. Wonderful images. Thanks for continuing to use your new Tamron lens. You really do need to contact Tamron about a royalty check because you just sold two of their Nikon lenses. My brother and I have each ordered one, thanks to your wonderful work,Maestro!

    • Thanks Rob, for your great comment. I honestly believe this is one of the best lenses that I have ever owned. I had just a small difficulty learning how to get birds focused in flight with it, but now I realize it just takes a bit of practice. You can see that I came up with some great results. Do you know anybody that wants to buy a like new Canon 500mm f4 IS lens? 🙂

      Too bad that you will have to wait a bit for yours. 🙂

  4. awww pretty birdies, I too have a special fondness for our Carolina wrens fortunantly they like coming around me and my feeders, even breeding on my porch, in our old dryer left outside to be thrown away which was delayed when I seen the babies in there, so cute.

  5. SHE is stunning! I particularly love the clear reflection in the water as well as the colors overall. I know the male is supposed to steal the show, but this time, she did. You are ahead of us by ONE, and we don’t get to go birding this weekend. Too much to do in the yard with this beautiful weather we’re having!

    You’d better take The Beast out and show him you still care. He probably is guessing by now he’s been replaced…LOL

    • I printed a 12×16 of HER for Ann. She wants me to frame it. Of course, I like it, too. Our beautiful weather is going to leave us again by mid-week. I agree, the Beast is getting neglected. I’m undecided whether to sell it or not. The new lens can do everything it could do, so far.

  6. Wow..what can I say..the female Merganser is absolutely beautiful..you out did yourself on this one..Love all the other photos..today I saw and heard a pair of Canada Geese over the roof of my house..spring is comin’..Yeah!!!

  7. Another fantastic display, Bob! You and Tamron are becoming quite the team. I am especially partial to the DOF on the Carolina wren and the fence! Very nice! I guess many times the best hunting might be at our own back doors!

Leave a Reply

