Red-tailed Hawk – off and flying


A couple of days ago while doing a bit of birding at Middle Concho Park, I happened to look across the river, about 200 yards away, and saw this Red-tailed Hawk perched on a tree branch.  I thought to myself, here is a good chance to see what my new Tamron 150-600mm lens could do.  I pulled my vehicle around to my side of the river bank, so I could photograph from the driver’s side window.  I came up with this series of images of this stunning raptor.  All photos hand-held.

Red-tailed Hawk on tree branch.

Red-tailed Hawk on tree branch.

He suddenly stands up, opend his wings  and decides it is time to fly.......

He suddenly stands up, opend his wings and decides it is time to fly…….

...and away he goes.....

…and away he goes…..

....and goes........

….and goes……..

.....and goes.....

…..and goes…..

.......and goes......

…….and goes……

...and eventually heads for another tree out of sight.

…and eventually heads for another tree out of sight.

Except for the first image, all others have been cropped to present close-ups of the hawk.  Click on any of them to see some beautiful enlargements.  Of course, all images are for sale.  Just contact me.

My Big Year update:

#112.  Common Yellow Throat

#113.  Marsh Wren

20 thoughts on “Red-tailed Hawk – off and flying

  1. Nice lighting underneath-it can’t be snow, so how did you accomplish this? Obviously a bright day and a lens that not only zooms in but lets in a lot of light? Enjoying what you are getting out of this new lens Bob.

    • You”re right it isn’t snow. Post processing in Photoshop, using the tool for lightening shadows without brightening the highlights. Also using a bit of plus to the EV in the camera. Makes a difference between a snapshot and a good photograph. Thanks, Jane.

  2. Your wildlife shots are amazing! I just picked up MY Tamron 150-600 yesterday. Only took a few shots with it on the way home but I am already impressed with this lens. Couldn’t believe how much a really good 95mm UV filter costs! Gene Mckinnon

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Hi Gene. I know you will love your new lens. Personally, I have never used filters of any kind. I make necessary adjustment during post processing. Thanks for commenting, and hope you will do so again.

Leave a Reply

