New Page – New Photos


First, I would like to mention that I have a new, additional page that you can see at the top of this post.  It is “Yakkety-Sax Man”.  It is the story of my music career.  Some of you already know about it, but I decided to post it a manner where you can select the six parts individually.  Just click on the ‘button’, or this shortcut.

Ann and I got out for a couple of hours on Tuesday morning.  This is the proverbial dog days of summer.  Hot, not too many birds moving.  But a birder can find opportunities if he or she perserveres.  I lucked out and saw a Bronzed Cowbird.  They are somewhat solitary, not usually in large groups.  This one was all alone in the grass at Spring Creek Park, here in San Angelo.  I love the bluish iridenscent color of the wings, and of course, that flashing red eye.

Bronzed Cowbird

Bronzed Cowbird

Further along the way, I saw this pretty Northern Cardinal.  I must admit that I already have many, many photographs of a cardinal, and I usually just ignore them, looking for that photo that may be better than the others.   But with so few birds in our count, and needing some photos for my post, I gave it a shot.  Once I saw it in my digital darkroom, AKA my computer, I realized that it was one of my better ones, so I am glad I didn’t ignore it this time.  I hope you like it.

North Cardinal

Northern Cardinal

Click on either image to see an enlargement.  To see more of my photographs, click on the Galleries button at the top of the page, then click on my SmugMug gallery.

16 thoughts on “New Page – New Photos

    • Thanks, Lisa. I like the cardinal, too. About the new page, people could find those stories by going to the Categories on the right side of my page, but then you had to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the first part. I decided this way was easier.

  1. Great shine on the cowbird, just not going to the dictionary to look up “that” word, again.I really have trouble with the spelling.The cardinal has clear view, very beautiful. I will check out your new blog, as well.

  2. Great pics, Bob, and I love the cardinal especially. The background works so well with the bird. We are finally enjoying some settled weather too! It’s very welcome.

Leave a Reply

