Happy Anniversary To Me!


WordPress notified me that today was my fifth year anniversary of my blog.  I didn’t see that coming or I would have opened a bottle of champagne.  It seems like only yesterday, well, maybe the day before.

In those five years, I have had 153,529 views.  That’s the count as I begin to write this.  I have 1,848 subscribed readers in 156 countries, not to mention all of the readers that I have that are not subscribers.  As I write this, which is, by the way, my 789th post, I ponder how in the world was I ever able to think of something to write – 789 times.

Anyway, I wish to thank all of you readers that continue to read my posts.  Some of you make comments and I have gotten to know you.  I wish some others would comment, also, as it is so reassuring to know that there are so many more readers out there, that I don’t know.  If I hadn’t ever gotten any comments, I would probably have terminated this blog long ago.  But as long as I know that someone out there is listening, I will try to continue.

Here are a few photos from the past few days.  Ann and I have taken a few short forays into the local parks to see if anything new has arrived.  Hope you enjoy them.  Click on any of them to see enlargements.

Here is the first Yellow Warbler of the new season.

Yellow Warbler

Yellow Warbler

A rare Zoned-Hawk making an appearance.  I photographed this one this morning.  Actually, I saw him the first time a few days ago.

Zone-tailed Hawk

Zone-tailed Hawk

This Green Heron was in a tree contemplating the world.

Green Heron

Green Heron

A familiar Eastern Phoebe.

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Ann and I are again, going back to the Fort Davis and the Davis Mountains, leaving Monday for three days.  We had to cut our previous attempt short because of a medical problem.  This time we hope to get it right.

If some of you readers would like to subscribe, click on “Sign Me Up”, on the right side of this page.  You will be notified by e-mail whenever I publish a new post.

50 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary To Me!

  1. Bob,
    Love your patience and your craft. Your photos are awesome. One question from a neophyte, do you shoot in portrait mode to get that effect, does your lens do that, or are you using post-production software?

    Keep up the great posts!

    Adrian Charlton

    • Hi Adrian, Thanks for commenting. I am not sure what “effect” that you are talking about. But I shoot in landscape mode 99% of the time, and I do post process all of my photos, mostly to check the lighting, sharpness, etc. If you would comment again, and be more specific, I may be able to help you out. Glad you enjoy my photos. 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Bob, and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! I’m so thrilled WordPress hooked me up with your blog! It has been such a joy. Here’s wishing you many more blogging years and fab photos ahead!

    That yellow warbler is stellar!!

    (Sorry I’m a bit late in my congratulations, I went back to work this past week so my world has been turned upside down again. It was so nice over the summer keeping up with all my blogging buddies every day!)

      • I teach preschool and work 5 mornings a week at one school and then 3 afternoons a week at a second school. It’s fun but 3 and 4 year olds require a lot of attention and energy! I may not be digging ditches but I still come home pretty wiped out. 🙂 I would rather be retired!

        Hope you are seeing lots of birds now that migration is in full swing!

        • If you teach, I respect you even more. I know that is a difficult job. I was able to observe up close and personal several years ago. I was the head bookkeeper for the local Lake View School District for two years. I wrote and signed the paychecks for the teachers, so I have an idea that they were over-worked and under-paid. I salute you. 🙂

  3. Hi Bobster!! Happy, Happy, Happy, Happy, Happy Blogging Anniversary! Your posts have been such a pleasure to read. You really have a knack with writing and your sense of humor keeps all of us readers laughing! You should be really proud of yourself Bob! Happy Anniversary to YOU!! Lots of love to you and Ann!

    • Oh, thanks, Deb, so nice to read your comment. You got me started on this thing, and you created a monster. You have been a true, wonderful friend, seems like my whole life. Lots of love back at you and Paul. See you soon.

  4. Congratulations, Bob! I am really glad I came across your blog, purely by accident! WordPress has opened me up to friends all over the world. Hoping you have a lovely and uninterrupted break this time!

  5. Congratulations, Bob. I am looking forward to the next five years of Texas Tweeties. As somewhat of a blogger myself, I know how difficult it is to come up with that next post. I am truly in awe of your grand total of 789 posts—and still counting.

  6. Congratulations! That is some accomplishment. I so enjoy your posts and photos…keep ’em coming please. That Yellow Warbler is a stunning bird. Thanks for posting all these great photos and enjoy the rest of your trip to the Davis Mts. hugs

    • Thanks so much, Beth. Glad you like the Yellow Warbler. It is one of my favorite warblers and this one is the first of the new winter season. I hope to see and photograph a few more of them. 🙂

  7. Fantastic pictures, as always! Happy Anniversary — so glad you’ve kept it up, and sure hope you’ll be able to continue for many more years!

  8. Bob, I’m SOOOOO happy our paths crossed in cyberspace and that we were able to meet face-to-face (although too briefly) this summer. Your blog is fantastic, and your photos give me goosebumps. YAY you! Five years is quite a milestone. Kudos to Ann, too, for helping to make Texas Tweeties a must read/see! The Lone Start State and its birds are so lucky to have you on their team. Cheers, Denise

Leave a Reply

