No Wordless Wednesday for me.


Some of my fellow bloggers have a thing in mid-week called a Wordless Wednesday post.  That is where they post one image and no dialogue.  I can’t do that.  Mainly, because I don’t know how to keep my mouth shut.  It wasn’t always that way though.  In my younger years, which actually was probably nearly the first 35% of my life, I was quite the invert.  Very shy, stuttered and generally held myself in low esteem.  That changed considerably later, but that is another story…….

So anyway, I have been going through my thousands of older photographs, many that I had forgotten I had.  For instance, I discovered an image of a Great-crested Flycatcher that I had taken just last April.  Heck, it was a lifer, and an addition to my 2014 Big Year list.  How the heck did I miss that?  When I am traveling I take hundreds of photos.  I then get home load them in the computer, briefly look at them for anything exciting, the mostly I forget about going back through them.  So that is what I did yesterday.  I believe that these photos that I am going to post here today, may be new to you.  I know that some they are mostly new to me.  This Osprey is from June 2008.

Osprey with fresh kill.

Osprey with fresh kill.

Wilson's Snipe

Wilson’s Snipe

Gray Hawk

Gray Hawk

The Gray Hawk was a rare find in Big Bend National Park.

Ash-throated Flycatcher

Ash-throated Flycatcher

Common Black-Hawk

Common Black-Hawk

This Common Black-Hawk is one of a pair that has been nesting at the Rio Grand Village camping area for several years.

Curved-billed Thrasher

Curved-billed Thrasher

Audubon Yellow-rumped Warbler

Audubon Yellow-rumped Warbler

Solitary Sandpiper

Solitary Sandpiper

And last, the following is a photograph that I took just this past Sunday at Spring Creek Park here in San Angelo.

Great Egret

Great Egret

I hope you enjoy these photos.  I will be back tomorrow, with a post about how Ann and I combine photography and birding.  Click on any of the photos to see enlargement.

16 thoughts on “No Wordless Wednesday for me.

  1. Love this post, Bob! Such great pics, and I can’t believe you found another ‘lifer’ just from your archives! I have seen ‘Wordless Wednesday’ posts too, and I don’t think I could do it either – I sometimes try to narrow a post down to 100 words and call it ‘In a Nutshell’ but I usually end up having way too much to say! 🙂

    • Thanks, Jo. I guess I had just scanned over that photo and had written it of as just another Ash-throated Flycatcher. This time I took a better look at it, and noticed I had taken it a different location, too. I am going to go through all of my old stuff, and see if I discover any more treasures. 🙂
      Speaking of having ot too much to say, check out my next post, about birding and photography. 🙂

  2. No one must tell you to use your words! Thanks for posting photos and comments…both of these are always informative and entertaining! hugs

    • Thank you, Laurie. Nice to hear from another of my readers. It is comments like yours, and others that keep me going with this. If not for encouragement from you, Bonnie, H.J. and many others, I would probably quit writing these posts. BTW, I had to look at the map to see where Sanibel was. So I hope to hear more from you in the Sunshine State. 🙂

Leave a Reply

