Baby, it’s cold outside…….


It’s so cold I saw a dog frozen to a water hydrant. πŸ™‚

I put a bucket of hot water outside and it froze before it stopped steaming. πŸ™‚

I was going to stay in and think up one-liners, then decided to do a post.Β  I noticed it has been several days since I wrote anything.Β  I did manage to get out and get a few snapshots.Β  Still getting used to my new Canon EOS 7D Mark II.

The light was all wrong for this Cormorant.Β  He was back-lit so I had to do some adjusting to my exposure.Β  Not bad.Β  The colors of his feathers look pretty nice.

Double-crested Cormorant  showing off his colors.

Double-crested Cormorant showing off his colors.

The Black Vulture is always hard to get a good exposure because of the dark colors.

Black Vulture

Black Vulture

The Meadowlarks are starting to arrive in large numbers.

Western Meadowlark

Western Meadowlark

This Bewick’s Wren tried to hide from me.

Bewick's Wren

Bewick’s Wren

That’s about it from me for this time.Β  Sorry for the short post.Β  I forgot to mention that I have a torn muscle in my chest.Β  Feels like a broken rib, but my buddy, Aleve, is helping me get through it.Β  I sneezed hard and that is what the doctor said caused it.Β  Leave it to me to get all of the weird stuff.

By the way, mark your calendars.Β  December 13, from 3:00 ’til 6:00PM.Β  At the Fort Davis Art Gallery.Β  They are honoring me with a reception as their featured artist as part of the Fort Davis Frontier Christmas celebration.Β  Stop by if you are in the area.

Well, I might build a fire in the fireplace if the smoke doesn’t freeze and plug up the chimney. πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “Baby, it’s cold outside…….

  1. Oh dear, Bob! I hope your muscle mends soon. It must hurt to laugh! I love your pics. It looks like you’re having fun with your new camera. The wren must have been hard to focus on! Stay warm and watch out for the woolly mammoths! πŸ˜€

  2. The cold has kept me from venturing out, but I guess we’ll have to brave it to get the birding fix Mr. Zeller. Hope you feel better soon. Congratulations on the honor at Fort Davis. Love the vulture shot most, but all a very good.

  3. OK, I was going to say it was all the bad jokes about the cold weather that made you pull a muscle!! The pain has not damaged your sense of humor, that is for sure. Interesting photos today, thanks for posting them. And congratulations on your honor…it is well deserved! warm hugs

  4. Stay warm and try not to sneeze, cough or laugh too hard for a while. The Vulture looks like he sympathizes πŸ™‚ I’m happy they will celebrate you as the featured artist. Well deserved!

  5. Hey Bob, great post and pics. Great pic of the vulture. You made a vulture look good! I don’t really like cold weather but I know we have more birds here in the winter season.. that I’m looking forward to! Hope your feeling better ☺

Leave a Reply

