Birding in San Angelo and number 199.


Thinks are looking up here in San Angelo in west Texas.  Several days ago I posted about the golf course at San Angelo Country Club, because I didn’t have any new birds to report.  Birds seemingly were scarce, and we didn’t see as many as we used to do.

Things changed today.  Ann and I are getting ready for my upcoming reception and book-signing at the Art Gallery in Fort Davis, so we haven’t had much time to bird.  This afternoon about 1:00 PM we decided to take a break and head to the parks at nearby Lake Nasworthy.  We birded until about 3:00, or about two hours and saw thirty-six species.  Wow!  What an improvement over the past few weeks.

The highlight of the day was spotting a Red-shouldered Hawk.  In our local checklist, it is listed as “uncommon – usually present but hard to find”.  We were about to leave Spring Creek Park when Ann spotted it on a tree branch, staring down into the weedy brush.  I quickly drove ahead about fifty yards, made a U turn and pulled back up so I could get a photo from my driver’s side car window.

Just as I got my Canon 7D Mark II with the Tamron 150-600mm lens lined up, the bird apparently spotted some prey in the brush.  He dove down and was out of sight for a few minutes.  We waited a bit and were ready to leave, when he flew from the brush and was visible through our windshield as he headed for the other side of the road.

I could see him far into the woods, so I turned the car around and drove back over.  I couldn’t get a bead on him from the car, so I got out and walked to the treeline.  I could spot him about fifty yards away in the the mesquites, sitting on a branch with his back to me.  I hand-held the camera and squeezed off a few shots, just seconds before he took off again.  I really didn’t know if I had good results until I got the images loaded into my digital darkroom.

Red-shouldered Hawk

Red-shouldered Hawk

It turns out that I got lucky.  The red shoulders aren’t very visible but the Sibley’s guide says that they aren’t always visible on an adult.  Besides, when he flew over our windshield, we definitely saw the unmistakeable burnt-orange underparts.  By the way, this was to be our 199th bird on our quest to reach 200 species for the year, so we were pretty happy with that.  Of course, in any other year, we would have already seen a Red-shouldered Hawk by this time.

I also was able the get this beautiful female American Goldfinch.

American Goldfinch

American Goldfinch

She was in the brush along the treeline in Spring Creek Park.  There were various other small birds, Dark-eyed Juncos, Black-crested Titmouses, Bewick’s Wrens, and Ruby-crowned Kinglets, but I was unable to get usable photos of any of them because of the thick brush.

We also saw along the way, a flyover of a Red-tailed Hawk, a Northern Flicker, a Forster’s Tern on a buoy in the lake, and the other usual woodpeckers, sparrows, cormorants, and American Coots.

This may be the last post from me for a few says.  We will be leaving for Fort Davis on Thursday morning and not returning until next Tuesday.  I may have some new photos for you on our return.

8 thoughts on “Birding in San Angelo and number 199.

  1. Just beautiful!! The hawk is saying, “Get your best shot…gotta fly!” Glad this was your 199. I just know you and Ann will get that final bird on your trip. I am cheering you on! hugs…have a great time

  2. Beautiful photos today and congrats on the 199th toward your goal. I think you are going to make it. 🙂 I clicked on your smugmug link and looked through your photos and Bob your work is tremendous! Seeing it all in one place at one time is visual extravaganza. You have amassed a body of incredible work. Congratulations. Btw, just got the 7dmarkII myself. The photos you are taking with the Tamron on impressive. Kind of waiting on the Sigma 150-600 to compare. Decisions, Decisions…

    • Thank you so much, Alison, for those glowing words. I am glad you like my work so much. By the way, I think you mentioned in one of your post that you lived near Winnemucca, (sic) Nevada. Way back in 1956 I was with a friend visiting one his relatives. His name was George Lonsberry, if I remember correctly. Anyway, I remember we climbed a small hill. At the top, I found an old probably a prospector’s whiskey bottle buried in the sand. It was purple from the heat, I guess, and it was probably very old. I still have that bottle resting on a shelf here at home. Probably way over 100 years old.
      Anyway, I love your horse photos. They are such magnificent beautiful animals. There is a lady that live near Alpine, Texas that photographs horses, too. Her name is Diane Lacy.
      Whichever lens you choose, it is nice having that extra reach. I think that the Tamron is performing much better with my new 7D than it did with my old 70d.

Leave a Reply

